La Paz, Potosi and Sucre


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
January 6th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I only had about a week and a half to go through and see as much of Bolivia as I could. I came into the country through Copacabana and moved on to La Paz. I Loved La Paz it had so much going on and the food was for the most part good. If your a fan of street Markets of any and all types then its the city for you. I felt like I was in Asia or what I think Asia would be like. It was in La Paz I did the trip on the Death Road. Then I moved on to Potosi see the mines. After I went to Sucre which is kind of a hot zone for Politics at the moment. I found it to be a great city all in all. So thats that.. I dont have too many Pics from this part of the journey but i will post what I have.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Presidents housePresidents house
Presidents house

Not to bad..
Miles of MarketsMiles of Markets
Miles of Markets

La Paz was one big market you could find everything there.. It was arounf X-mas time so most of the stuff was for the holidays. I met many people who spent their whole time shopping there..
MarketMarket
Market

Here is another view..
Big Bag of CocaBig Bag of Coca
Big Bag of Coca

There were all these stands that only sold Coca leaves..
Fruit and Veg MarketFruit and Veg Market
Fruit and Veg Market

The color in these markets are just amazing.. These are for you Molly...
Fruit Lady..Fruit Lady..
Fruit Lady..

we bought so fruit from her then when we asked for our change back she would not give it to us.. So all I have is this pic..
The city of SucreThe city of Sucre
The city of Sucre

Here is a view of Sucre Bolivia..
SucreSucre
Sucre

More views of Sucre.
Road BlockRoad Block
Road Block

So this is a funny story but in short; The Peru bus drivers wanted more $ so they went on strike and blocked all the roads into Peru from Bolivia so I had to hope on the only bus going to Puno that day by paying the bus driver extra. This is the dirt they dumped on the road and you cant tell but the black stuff was smoking and burning.. good fun


18th January 2008

ROAD BLOCK!!!
WOW !!! Now thats the way to get results in a strike! I wonder if the writers guild will be doing the same thing soon.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb