Potosi to Rurrenbaque


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok so with Danny now recovered from altitude sickness, we headed 6 hrs north/east to Potosi. We got a bus costing 3 quid each and I now understand what my Mum means when she says you pay for what you get......the bus journey was horrific. Bolivia is basically 1 big mountain range and the roads are terrible – we saw 1 truck that had slid off the road so instead of taking that turn easy our bus driver overtook at speed on a blind corner......oh and did I mention this was all happening with snow so you could hardly see.....................we survived and made it to the world’s highest city at 4020m above sea level. By this point a gang of us had formed (i.e. the 6 guys and gals from our salt plain trip and a few of their mates). We had a few drinks that night and booked to go on a mine tour the next day.

Ok, well I have never been into a mine in the UK where there is much needed health and safety regulations, so I have no idea why I thought it necessary to talk Danny into this trip in Bolivia......Danny had all the possible outs....asthmatic, a bit claustrophobic, feared for his life....but he bravely accepted the challenge and we went down this mine........it was on reflection a terrible decision.......at one point when we were literally crawling down a sheer drop (Goonie style) and I wanted Danny to take my pic I thought divorce was beckoning as Danny was not loving it and politely (Ok not exactly) told me where to stick the camera at this precise moment!!! but when we got further into the mine the air became easier and it was a little more bearable........the dust, the heat and the general lack of safety was a real eye opener though and you couldn’t help but feel for the miners who worked 6 days a week, up to 12 hours a day there for 400 pounds a month (and this is a decent wage (double lawyers!!). we gave the miners gifts – dynamite to assist, fizzy drinks but it made your mind spin.........this was actually our 6 year anniversary of our first date so we were going to head out for a nice meal as we had the night to ourselves and were going to catch up with the gang in Sucre (next stop) but the dust down the mine and the whole experience had drained us so I sent Danny out to buy a chicken and chip kebab thing which was awesome and we snuggled in bed at 7pm in front of a film........who said romance was dead!!!!!!!!
Next day we headed to Sucre and a bit of warmer weather.....we had a few days here and basically caught up with some people we knew and chilled out. We found this amazing little cafe half way up a cliff with views of the whole town so went there every day....we also tried to keep fit by going on a sightseeing tour and long walk into the outskirts and basically walked up and down hills (all good practice for the Inca trail!).
After our experience of Bolivian buses so far we decided for 13 quid we could spend 12 hours on a bus or for 50 we could fly to La Paz..........so we flew........yes I know...I m the worst traveller.....time is money doesn’t really stand up here .......oh well!!!

We were trying to work out what to do when we got to La Paz and so when exploring our options we came across this mountain bike and jungle tour...I had no idea what I was getting myself in for!!!!
I stupidly thought that as I have ridden a bike before 2 days on a mountain bike would be easy......I had no idea........but as Danny keeps reminding me this is all a big life experience!!
SO we flew directly to La Paz and got a taxi to a bus stop and headed 3 hours north to a little village called Sorata. We were in a mini bus filled with locals and to say we were squashed was an understatement. Anyhow after 3 hours of going up and down round and round we arrived. We decided a little walk to the eco lodge where we would meet the tour would be a welcome change from all the travelling. Who knew that what sounded like a 5 min walk with our big bags would result in a 1 hour hike through a canyon and across a river!!! Anyhow we made it.
Next day was day 1 of our 2 day bike trip. We drove to a summit at 4700m and then got given bikes........then off we went. Within 2 minutes I had lost Danny and had fallen off the bike......embarrassing to say the least. The suspension was insane it was like being on a bouncy castle and I took forever to get to grips with the hyper sensitive brakes!!!! Anyhow, we covered nearly 60k the first day, my hands were killing from braking the whole downhill sections (apparently I am not a speed demon unlike Danny!) we finished at 1000m so a lot of downhill’s. But it was a lot of fun. We had pasta for tea and then by 8.30 we were knackered and retired to bed. The officially worst hotel ever!!!!!! The door and frame fell off (was actually quite funny!), the beds were actually sand bags and we had no window....so tired though....slept quite well!!!!

Next day, my butt was killing!!!!!! But day two was less downhill more ups and downs but still brilliant.....we cycled above the clouds, through them, through little waterfalls.....even had a chance for a natural bath in a river at lunch time!!!!!!! Must admit after 2 days biking to the extreme was happy to have a 3 day boat break for the rest of the trip!!!!

So days 3 – 5 were a jungle trip – i.e. 4 hours a day in a boat making our way down a tributary into the Amazon basin...............can you believe it, after 40 days in Africa camping...we were at it again...camping in the rainforest...and doing some jungle treks where you learned about trees and animals and general survival if you were ever left stranded in a rainforest?!!! If Danny did really wind me up – i have the perfect form of torture there is a tall tree which is hollow and is full of thousands of fire ants – they can eat an entire person in 5 hours including bones!!!!! An ancient form of torture......interesting if a little scary!!!!
The boat journey was ace...the walks were really interesting if a little sweaty, got to bathe in mini waterfalls which was awesome.....the less we say about camping the better........we both got attacked by sand flies.....Danny’s ankles are covered and well…..note to self, it is not cool to be a girl when sand flies are a threat, picture, middle of the night, desperate for the loo, no toilet……….peachy bum as a target….let’s just say my butt is not a pretty picture at the mo!!!!!! Oh and a spider landing on my face – obviously screams followed and then I broke the zip to the tent so I was then locked in, alone with the spider….danny my hero came to the rescue but I was not a happy camper!!!!!

Josh if you have made it to this paragraph I congratulate you……I am trying to be less longwinded….but much to report!!!!!

Love to all!
x





Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



25th May 2011

Hi
Sound like you are having an amazing time, although I am wiht DAnny about the mine, you couldnt have paid me to go in it!! Hope you had a wonderful Birthday Carrie! Can't wait to catch up when you get back!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb