Fuerza Bruta and all that buzz


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
October 15th 2010
Published: July 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -34.6118, -58.4173

This is the first time I've considered it useful to write a blog entry whilst under the affluence of incohol (as Shug, and perhaps a "Carry On…" film before him, used to say).

Tonight I went to see "Fuerza Bruta" in Buenos Aires (www.fuerzabruta.net/website/fuerza_eng.html) – a show which has so much buzz around it that even bumble bees would feel slightly intimidated approaching the entrance. People in Buenos Aires say things to you like, “Wow, it is the best thing I have ever seen in my life!” and “You have to go, you just HAVE to go”. So, I gave in tonight, and went.

If you are asking me, it was okay; worth seeing and worth the entrance fee, but, at the same time, the whole event wouldn't survive a very basic feminist analysis (and a very basic feminist analysis is about all I can muster, given that, in general, I am too lazy to read the feminist greats of this world, and that I am too pissed right now even to make the cup of coffee that I am really in the mood for).

It's a dodgy nightclub venue, with male characters being all powerful in suits and running a lot, with women wearing very little and sliding around in water, pressing their bodies against plastic.

It was fun (kinda like fireworks, only with humans instead of fireworks) and I loved the music. It's all set up to be a trippy “Wow, I'm feeling it, man!” vibe, and I was happy, in lots of ways, to go along with that during the show.

But when you leave, and one of the first things you hear is a man saying to you, “Wow, those women were hot, don't you think?”, you're left with a slight smudge on your soul. (I'm pleased that I can turn around and distance myself a little, in situations like these, with a smug “Oh, I'm gay”.) I realise I am going against the thousands of die-hard Fuerza
Bruta-fanatics out there in saying this, but I left the show last night
wishing it had been a little longer and a bit better.

That's about it really. During these, the last weeks of the show in Buenos Aires, you should go, and you'll enjoy it. But, if you miss it, don't kick yourself too hard.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb