INTERACTIVE PRISON MUSEUM


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
August 20th 2015
Published: November 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Galeria TematicaGaleria TematicaGaleria Tematica

My first view of the Thematic Gallery
THE THEMATIC GALLERY (Interactive Prison Museum)

Ushuaia, Argentina

Aug 20th



Hernan, my host for my stay in Ushuaia, drove past the Thematic Gallery on my first full day in Ushuaia. I was intrigued by the prisoners scaling the walls of the old prison. He tried to explain what it was, finally saying that it was a museum. The name of the museum didn’t inspire me so I didn’t really think I would venture inside but the outside of the edifice made for some interesting photos.

One morning I set out on foot to walk to the downtown area. Although only 4.6 km, it took about two hours because of snow and ice and part of the way there was no path. The landscape took my breath away. I had decided to go to a travel agent to book a ticket for the Prison Train, a must see according to visitor’s pamphlets about Ushuaia. I tried to get to the box office myself three different times. I always arrived too late to buy a ticket. This time I found a travel agency and bought my ticket for the prison train from Natasha, a very pleasant and
Glorious mountains and icy harborGlorious mountains and icy harborGlorious mountains and icy harbor

I took many walks in Ushuaia...they filled me with peace and beauty.
helpful young agent. They would pick me up and drive me to the train the next morning.

Natasha asked me if I had seen the prison museum and said I really shouldn’t miss it. She also told me which restaurant she thought was the best in Ushuaia. My schedule fit with the museum hours perfectly. I even had time visit the oldest tea shop in Ushuaia, right across the street. It is a quaint little shop with ancient wooden floors and walls. I ordered a slice of lemon meringue pie with my tea and ogled the candy counter. I managed not to succumb to its charms and ate only half the pie…a girl must watch her figure at any age.

I crossed the street and bought my ticket to the prison museum. What a wonderful place; simply magical. It really spoke to the child in me and I also learned a lot about the history of this part of Argentina, painlessly. I am so grateful for the experience.

The museum traces the history of Tierra del Fuego, the Land of Fire, from the first settlers to the present time. Inside are numerous three dimensional dioramas, including the
The Oldest Tea Shop in UshuaiaThe Oldest Tea Shop in UshuaiaThe Oldest Tea Shop in Ushuaia

I was so happy to finally find it again, right across from the Thematic Gallery.
voyage of the Beagle and Darwin’s exploration of Tierra del Fuego. With my personal tape recorder I followed the path painted on the floor of the museum through dim halls which guided me from one well-lit scene to another. Scenes depict the various indigenous tribes that lived in this harsh environment, the growth of local government and of course, the historical prison where the most dangerous criminals in the country were incarcerated in Ushuaia. What made the museum so intriguing and unique was that visitors could step into the scenes for photographs. Since I was alone, I asked museum attendants to take my photo, and they were very obliging. What fun! I can’t remember when I enjoyed a museum so much.

There is a very nice gift shop on the lower level and the personnel were friendly and very helpful. This is a great destination. Don’t miss it.





I finished up the day with a wonderful meal at Gustino’s, the restaurant Natasha had recommended. I arrived around six-thirty and discovered that I couldn’t be seated until 8 p.m. Since I was already there I chose to sit in the waiting area with a pot
Thematic Gallery DioramaThematic Gallery DioramaThematic Gallery Diorama

One of the indigenous tribes of Tierra del Fuego, The Land of Fire.
of tea and read my novel. The view of the harbor was amazing, with the surrounding snow covered mountains. I felt warm and safe as I watched the forbiding sky decide whether to snow or rain. The light was amazing.

Finally I was able to move to the dining room. The waitress moved a table closer to the window and the wall heater, making sure I would be comfortable. I ordered a steak and salad, my treat to myself. I had heard about wonderful Argentine steaks, and I wasn’t disappointed.

First I was served fresh bread and a pretty little shot glass filled with hummus, with a little butter drizzled on top. Then my entre came: two delicious steaks wrapped in bacon. The salad was pickled eggplant on a nest of endive, topped with thinly sliced Swiss cheese. WVunderbar! As usual I had to try a dessert - three tiny scoops of ice cream topped with a thin square gingerbread cookie, whipped cream and wild forest berries. I could only eat a mouthful or two.

When I finished and had paid my bill I asked the waiter if he would call me a cab. He apologized and told me there was a strike. No taxis were working. I thanked him and said that I would walk. I could see the route from where I was sitting. I had walked it four or five times already during my stay in Ushuaia, the lights and the reflection off the snow made it almost as bright as day. The server was aghast…and went and found his supervisor, a very polite young man who insisted it wasn’t safe to walk and said he would drive me back to my residence. I assured them I had done walked the route before, several times. However, since I had fallen and struck my head on the pavement once, during the day, and now it was late and there were very few people on the street to help me if I fell again, I sensibly decided to accept his kindness. He gave me a ride back to my room. He would not accept any money, but took the opportunity to buy some fresh bread for the hotel from a small bakery right next door, so it wasn’t an entirely wasted trip.

It had been a day full of wonderful surprises and the kindnesses of strangers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

IncarceratedIncarcerated
Incarcerated

Next to the most dangerous prisoner in Ushuaia
GustinosGustinos
Gustinos

I am enjoying the wall heater, the view, and the marvelous food.
DessertDessert
Dessert

Beautifully presented and delightfully tasty.


Tot: 0.467s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 23; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb