Glaciers and Hiking - El Chalten


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Cruz » El Chaltén
February 16th 2011
Published: February 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

HIking and Glaciers


The second day of the group tour saw us travelling to El Calafate and then onto El Chalten for a couple of days.

The third day we went on one hell of a long hike. Although, since my new shoes (did I mention that I had shit shoes and needed to buy some new ones) were giving me hell so I didn't get to go all the way to the top. Instead I skipped the part of the hike that saw the group going to the top of the trail to see the best views of Fitz Roy and the lakes nearby. That cut my hike down to "only 6 hours and 30 minutes. But I then wandered around town and bought ANOTHER pair of hiking shoes, got some souvenirs, put some washing in and booked in for the following day of galcier climbing.

WOW! Glacier climbing. What an experience! I had to remember everything that Sas had taught me about rock climbing and keeping my body close to the wall. Like always I kinda freaked out on the first time up the wall and did a shit job but made it all the way. On the second time up the other part of the wall I did much better and made it almost all the way to the top of the wall before falling. Close enough for my liking!

We were there for quite a while letting the others take their turns and eating if we wanted to (and taking photos) before hiking on the ice for a couple of hours and finishing it off with a Baileys on top of the world (or the bottom of the world....)

Anyways I'll let the photos speak for themselves...


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



20th February 2011

Nice Photos
Bet you miss us here :) Eaten any crazy food yet?
21st February 2011

What a feeling alright!
Wow, wow and wow some more . . .! What spectacular scenery! Luv ya, miss ya, take care.
21st February 2011

Wow!!
Hi Lauz, You must be having a ball!! I'm so jealous I think my skin is green! Anyway those photos are great and thanks for letting us see them. Nothing real exciting happening here except that we may now be the only leaders on Safari unless they can find a male Rotarian to come with us. Otherwise Doug may becomne an honorary Rotarian for Safari so he can technically be the Rotarian on the trip. Should be fun though - I can't wait. Keep having an awesome time and keep up the updates and take care, be safe and travel securely. Cheers Joeds

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb