Perito Moreno and Flamingos


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Cruz » El Calafate
March 28th 2011
Published: March 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a very short night (sa-so) I slept very well during my first night in el calafate. Yesterday, I went to the glaciar perito moreno together with an Indian guy from London, a German girl, her friend from Israel, and the Galician I met at the airport in Bariloche. I can't stop talking about the Patagonian colours...! We saw every possible blue you could imagine - absolutely great! Weather was nice too (strong wind, as always). El Calafate is very expensive (do you remember the 4 peso ice cream? Here it's 17 pesos), though the kitchen is busy the whole evening. During dinner I met a guy from the USA who now lives in London and used to live in Buenos Aires, and we had some very interesting conversations yesterday and today.
Today I met the Galician guy at 9 and we went to the very close park, which contains several small lakes with many different birds, eg flamingos! We spent 3 hours walking around in the park and on the beach of the lago argentino.
Since the city didn't have internet this evening I couldn't buy all the bus tickets I wanted to buy in advance, but since it's low season in the south it shouldn't be difficult to get tickets. Tomorrow I'm going to puerto natales (5h) where I change bus to punta arenas, chile (3h). I'm looking forward to a spectacular view during the trip!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb