Goodbye El Calafate


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Cruz » El Calafate
March 25th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally today is the day I fly back to Buenos Aires for my spanish course and some hard work! These last few days have actually turned out pretty fun - it´s strange how you come to know and love a place... and if you stay for more than a few days suddenly you´ll be walking down the street and be saying hello to everyone - you just get to know the faces of all the other backpackers in the same boat.

Ok well, I should try to remember what happened since the glacier a few days back. One day was a rest day, hired a bike and headed out into the wilds at the back of Calafate. Climbed up a hill, found some animal skeletons and evidence of Pumas! (scary) then went to catch the Flamingoes that live in the lake (strange but true - flamingoes in patagonia),,, oh and before I forget I went for a run with an american guy called Braden to the lake and took a 20 second dip in the glacial meltwater! (not as cold as the north sea). Yesterday I went for a lovely cabalgata day, ie. horseriding. Well horse plodding more like. My horse (named Al Capone) refused stubbornly to do anything other than follow the ass of the horse in front. Still it was a fun couple fo hours (more than enough time for my backside) and followed by a huge lunch (yup i´m really roughing it), and I had to speak spanish to all the other people! my first real spanish experience...

Last night, my farewell night,, I ended up playing silly drinking games with two french canadians till the early hours,, thus feeling a bit rough today. There´s a chance I´ll hook up with these two, and some of the others i´ve met later in the trip as everyones kinda doing the same thing more or less....

Ok time for the plane....



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th March 2007

A request
Get yourself back to Ipanema, I want to see more of the beach!!!!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb