Cafayate for Me


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Cafayate
January 15th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before arriving, I had some romantic visions of Cafayate….small vineyards like wheel spokes branching out from a cozy town, all nestled among more of my favorite Quebrada colors. And it is just that but, when you mix in hordes of Argentine teenagers and university students, it loses some of its appeal. So during my two days in Cafayate, my main goal was to avoid the noise and try to stick to my romantic picture of the place. With ominous storms always around the corner, signs that lead to nowhere, and badly blazed paths that only goats can figure out, it was easy enough to lose myself from the crowd. I took a sandy road to a sandy path up the mountainside to look for some caves. No caves, no ruins, either, when I later looked for them. It’s okay. I found a river and some beautiful views. And the second day, the rains couldn’t deter me from the wineries. With that and some rarely-frequented museums and downtime in cafes, I managed to get the Cafayate I wanted (although more sun would’ve been perfect).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



27th January 2007

interesting murals
Hope you have more pictures of the murals. They seem to be very unique and unusual for this type of art.
29th January 2007

i wanted to go here
i so wanted to go to cafayate -next time! did you see the 5 star hotel they recently built out of one of the vineyards -it is a starwood resort and i am still working towards enough starwood points to stay there... someday.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb