Bariloche, city of chocolate, steaks and great nature around. Starting to feel like a real trip


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

After a great couple of days at Sabatico Hostel, were I meet a cool young Australian couple (actually the girl emphasized that the guy was from New Zealand...), after a lot of walking around the city, about15 KM a day and after a short bad stomach I took a 2.5 hours flight to San Carlos De Bariloche - AKA the famous sky resort at the west of Argentina, located in the "lake district", at the north of Patagonia. I arrived at mid autumn (Mid April), and enjoined both the tasty possibilities of the city (like the amazing and famous "jauja" ice cream) and the nature around. I stayed at Periko's Hostel which is mostly build by real solid wood from the surroundings. Bariloche is also located near the Nahuel Huapi National Park- "Island of the Jaguar" in the native mapuche tongue.

Its kinda well known that Bariloche was used to be a proffered hidden town by nazis after WW2. but I left that to the Israeli Mossad to take care of. I did decide to explore the nature around by foot and did two one day treks near by. the first trek was to a refugio - a mountain cabin called "Frey" which is by the toncek lagoon. for me it was amazing visiting the refugio after been there 10 years ago in my first visit to Argentina. then, I stayed near the lagoon in a tent, for two nights. this time, I did only one day trek. about 24 KM both directions and I enjoined the great view and nature along the trek almost the same as the first time I visited the park. Why almost ? maybe because I was younger then and more optimistic... and also, I guess that the first time you see such views and landscape is the most special one. Of course it doesn't mean that you are not amazed once again by the landscape in your second visit as well.



***

The pictures: Facilities of a small circus near the Nahuel Huapi lake, just next to the city. I really like the clown photo. Also, terrific cafe in Bariloche, as well as the famous jauja ice cream (originally from the small but magical town of El Bolson, which is about two hours south to Bariloche). And the refugio (mountain cabin) Frey trek, to Toncek lagoon . I did a day trek although you can sleep for the night at the refugio and come back the next day, or even do a couple of days trek, combing the refugio Frey with refugio jakob.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb