Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
August 2nd 2013
Published: August 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We only had a few days in Buenos Aries, we had a tour guide. It was so good to be able to go to the hotel and drink the water after the last two places we were. BA is a very impressive and grand city, that is alive with colourful culture and something happening everywhere. On the first night we were there we had a dinner at a fine restaurant then we saw a tango show, it wasn’t really my cup of tea, but when in Rome…



The following day our guide took us on a tour, we were taken to the magnificent Basilica of Nuestra Señora de Luján, where Jorge Mario Bergoglio who would become Pope Francis used to celebrate Mass. Following this we retuned to the city, to the main sq where their parliament, the Cassarosada is, this is where Evita was filmed. I have to say I was disappoint when I saw it for real as the movie made it look much bigger, but I was still glad I got there. Next our guide took us into the magnificent Cathedral. The rest of the afternoon was free for us to explore. I wanted to go to the Evita museum so we got in a taxi and said Eva Peron, we went a long way out, he took us to Eva Peron Rd not the museum, which as we found out is nowhere near the museum. Despite a small wrong turn we got there eventually. They had many clothes and items that she used in life, so I was really glad we got to go there. The following afternoon we headed to the cemetery where she was buried. Normally cemeteries don’t interest me but this one was just magnificent, they have incredible marble monuments to their dead. I’m sure some of them would have cost my than my house! Overall I really enjoyed Argentina and would like to see more of the country.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0949s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb