Iguazu Thrills


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First glimpseFirst glimpseFirst glimpse

From the Brazilian side
Iguazu Falls.... wow! WOW! Without a doubt the most amazing natural feature I have ever seen. If anyone knows anything else that might give it a run for its money, please forward details to me as a matter of urgency. I really doubt there is anything to compare, and if anyone makes claims to the contrary, well, I'll believe it when I see it.

Upon first laying eyes on the Falls, Eleanor Roosevelt is said to have exclaimed "poor Niagara". I can relate to these sentiments completely. Iguazu makes Niagara look like an impressive backyard water fountain, and Erskine Falls (bless it's heart) look like what happens when a man with prostate problems stands over a urinal. Everything about it was mindblowing. It truly was an all-out assault on the senses. The sights, sounds and sheer power of the Garganta del Diablo (Devil's Throat) were simply beyond description.

The Falls are right on the border of Brazil and Argentina, and can be observed from both sides. Many had told me that the Argentinian side is better, which I probably wouldn't disagree with, but to anyone planning on seeing them any time in the future, I implore you to
What will happen next?What will happen next?What will happen next?

This Coati ran up Evelien's leg and knocked off her lunch
see both sides. In Argentina, you are basically right over the top of, or right at the bottom of the Falls, close enough to get drenched and cop and eyeful of spray. In Brazil, you get a better overall picture of them and therefore have a better chance of comprehending their sheer size - a lazy 2.7km wide in total. I could go on an on (an on and on) and still not go close to describing this place. Hopefully the photos give you some idea, but my trusty old Nikon was no match for the spectacle on offer, and can therefore only give you taste of these incredible scenes.

Other than the Falls, there didn't seem to be a lot to do around town, and pretty much all of the time I wasn't staring gape-jawed at the Falls was spent at the hostel hanging out with Barbara, Yentl and Evelien, three Dutch girls who I'd met in Montevideo. This hostel was a study in contrasts. With a gigantic palm fringed pool surrounded by banana lounges, and inside, pool tables, table tennis etc it was by far the most impressive I've stayed at in terms of facilities. Pity it
There were thousands of butterfliesThere were thousands of butterfliesThere were thousands of butterflies

This was my favourite. Can you guess why?
was staffed by the most slothful workforce I have ever observed. Looking for a toilet in the place that had a seat was like hunting for unicorns. Being forced to squat awkwardly over the bare bowl, one had to be grateful if their toilet stall did in fact have a door, as these too were scarce. I don't know what union the maintenance staff are members of, but I want in.

The hospitality staff were similarly shiftless. One memorable incident took place when I went up to the bar to buy some tokens for the pool table. I stood there for 20+ minutes while one staff member admired one of the guests new whizbang digital camera, and two others sat on their tushes having a conversation in Spanish and completely ignoring me. The situation became quite comical when I finally caught their eye (they were sitting no more than 2m away from me), and instead of serving me, they complemented me on my t-shirt and then returned to their conversation having barely broken stride. Admittedly, the t-shirt is perhaps the best item of clothing I've ever owned and I appreciated the accolades. However, when the first guy finally stopped
Catwalk rainbowCatwalk rainbowCatwalk rainbow

Brazilian side
checking out the guest's digital camera to serve me, only to abruptly tell me that the pool tables were 'closed', my caipirinha just couldn't wash away the bitter taste in my mouth. I wouldn't wish similar service upon the dogs in the local pound.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

More rainbowsMore rainbows
More rainbows

From the Brazilian catwalk
So many rainbowsSo many rainbows
So many rainbows

Brazilian side
On the catwalk yeahOn the catwalk yeah
On the catwalk yeah

HJT copping a good soak
Amazing sceneryAmazing scenery
Amazing scenery

HJT on the Argentinian side
HJT showing some Dutch courageHJT showing some Dutch courage
HJT showing some Dutch courage

Yentl, HJT and Evelien
The signs were rather crypticThe signs were rather cryptic
The signs were rather cryptic

This one had me particularly puzzled
Up close and personalUp close and personal
Up close and personal

On the Argentinian side
Checking out the Devil's ThroatChecking out the Devil's Throat
Checking out the Devil's Throat

HJT gave it the thumbs up
'Harley's Angels' at the Devil's Throat'Harley's Angels' at the Devil's Throat
'Harley's Angels' at the Devil's Throat

Evelien, Yentl and Barbara
A good place to relaxA good place to relax
A good place to relax

The hostel pool
The t-shirt that took the fancy of the bar staffThe t-shirt that took the fancy of the bar staff
The t-shirt that took the fancy of the bar staff

No translation required for anyone who grew up in the 1980's


7th May 2007

Cryptic sign
It has to mean. "Beware! If your feet fall off then you are bound to take a tumble". Sweet hostel pool, and Arnold t-shirt.

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb