Iguazu waterfalls


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

From other travellers, I've heard anything between "It´s the most beautiful thing I've ever seen" and "It's just a couple of waterfalls, why do you want to go there?". I found myself to be somewhere in between: it's probably not the most beautiful thing I've ever seen (although just now, I can't think what the most beautiful thing I've seen is - maybe I'm just hard to impress) - but it is definitely beautiful, impressive, powerful, impressive. And it is definitely just huge.

I´m adding some pictures, but pictures just never express it right - I would totally recommend going yourself! Pictures don't have the roar of the falls, the spindrift that gets you almost completely wet within 1 minute, the vertigo feeling standing on the lookout directly above the Garganta del Diabolo (Devil's throat - the biggest fall) looking down (thinking how very dead you must be if you fall down). And pictures can never capture the whole landscape of falls - there are falls everywhere!

I started out at the most impressive Garganta del Diabolo and then made my way to the smaller falls further down on the argentinian side. There are Disneyland-style catwalks everywhere, taking you over the falls, close to the falls, on the rim of the falls, by the falls....and if you actually want to go under some of the falls, you can take a boat-tour to do it. Since I was still feeling a bit queasy and exhausted, I thought a boat tour would be just the right thing for me (instead of hiking my way across Isla San Martin to see more waterfalls in closeup). That's what I thought on my way down to the boat stop, buying the ticket. It was only when I arrived at the bottom, seeing other people getting off the boat and wringing out their clothes, that I realized that they take you so close under the falls that it does not leave a single dry hair on you....and apart from that, sitting in a tiny boat under a massive waterful is pretty powerful and pretty scary. Funnily enough, after spending 15 minutes of thinking that I am either going to die drowning (boat turning over in the rapids) or being smashed by the force of the waterfall, or will at least lose my contact lenses, I was so high on adrenaline that my stomach actually felt much better.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



9th June 2008

Wowie!
Thanks for the impressive updates, darling. Nice to see that your near-death experiences are helping your stomach find a sense of perspective. The falls sound truly amazzzzzzing! What was it like going beneath them? Did you really get the feeling that the boat would fill up!? Stunning photos... nice one!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb