Wish me Luck!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
October 24th 2011
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MendozaMendozaMendoza

First Argentinian beer with Ruth (Switzerland) and Chantal (Holland)
Morning chicas and chicos!!!
So what have I been up to? Amelia has left and I´ve moved into a cheaper hostel. The receptionist, Ramona, teaches German at the local international language school and I was told that she would be able to let me know what it´s like working and teaching here. Anyway, to cut a long story short, she called them up last Friday, I went for an interview that day, observed a class that night and I have an hour of teaching tonight and if they like me then I have a job starting next March!!! I´m finding it so hard to get back into the grammar, and teaching am about "would" but the teacher, Kit, is really nice, very laid back, she´s from Boston, been here about 18 months and heading home next month. She´s going to go through my notes with me for an hour before the lesson so hopefully I´ll get through it. We had a massive thunderstorm last night but you´ll be pleased to know that it is back to being sunny today.
I haven´t really been doing much whilst here, but am glad to say that it´s been really easy to meet people, you´d
MendozaMendozaMendoza

The main sqare, they have bands and music all the time, a lovely place to watch the world go by
be surpised how many girls are travelling on their own. I´ve found it really safe, you have to have your passport to buy bus tickets and the bus stops every few hours to go through checkpoints and to check everyone´s id and luggage so I´ve never felt uneasy at all. I have just bough my bus ticket to Buenos Aires leaving tomorrow night so I will really be entering my first "travelling by myself" but there´s a girl who I am meeting after BA and then hopefully another couple of girls and a couple somewhere in Brazil, you find lots of people doing the same route.
The only activity I have done here is the bike winery tour - Mr Hugo is a legend and known by virtually all travellers. You rock up about midday, start off with a sociable glass of wine from Mr H and then he gives you a bike, a map, bottle of water and off you go. It´s very flat and on the way back you have the tourist police riding their motorbike behind you just making sure you get round the roundabout OK, very impressed!!
So I am off to plan my lesson for
MendozaMendozaMendoza

Walk round the local market
tonight, hope you´re all OK, lovely to hear from you Jennifer Weddell (slowly getting used to that!!), any news from back home on here or facebook is good to hear. Hope you´re all OK, miss you lots xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

To left is the nerves of the pigs ankles and to the right is sliced liver
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Feet to the left, brains to the top and intestines to the right!
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

After working up an appetitie(?) at the market, the table was set for the all you can eat bbq
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

With a few glasses of wine included
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Getting the local bus with Ruth and Chantal
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Cerro Gloria, a war memorial and viewpoint over the city. There has been a volcano in Chile so you couldn´t really see very far though.
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Police band playing in the plaza
MendozaMendoza
Mendoza

Making empanadas - similar to cornish pasties


24th October 2011

good luck!
Hi hun! hope you are ok glad to hear your enjoying yourself. And thats brilliant news about the job offer good luck for your lesson you will be great!. Take care and i will keep reading! love you x
27th October 2011

Food for thought
We don't think we are interested in the pigs' nerves etc. You can have the lot. My Dad used to have the most wonderful dish he offered us when we asked what was for tea - his reply, spiders' knees and thrushes' ankles. Sounds delicious in comparison. WOULD that he were here to serve them now. All our love B&R
30th October 2011

Good to hear you are having a great time
Looking forward to seeing your next blog

Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb