Arrived in Argentina...Long Travel


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Malargüe
July 6th 2011
Published: July 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was quite the first day that we had in country. We arrived in Malargue at 2am in the morning and our first meet was at 9 with the mayor. The mayor was wanting the meeting to be a small and private affair but the other officials got word that we were in the office and kept barging in and then somebody called the media. Needless to say the mayor was not pleased; however it was kind of funny to watch.

We had a blast talking to the mayor and we were able to emphasize the project in Bartas Blancas as our top priority. For distinguished guests they have them sign a "gold book" and we signed and wrote a little message of thanks within it. We really felt like we had a great welcome.

I was so happy that I studied abroad today because I had to give an on the spot interview that was completely in spanish and very fast. They said I did well, but the first time I was doing it my heart was pounding in my chest. In the afternoon I had to present a presentation of Michigan Tech to the local school teachers and principals so we could promote a full ride scholarship that exists here. Up until that presentation I had never seen what we were going to use. It was quite the adventure!

Later that day we had a brief meeting with development officials in the government. While we were there the headmaster of the Bartas Blancas school showed up so we got to talk to some of the students for a bit and meet them. It was really exciting because rarely does the headmaster come into town, due to the long trip.

Our apartment is really really nice and Mike, Kyle, and I share a room with 3 beds while Sarah has her own room. It is comparable to my house back home in ammenities. While searching for a grocery store in the evening, we learned the hard way what directions you shouldnt walk at night. We passed through some really sketchy areas at times.

It was a long journey and I was definitely jet-lagged today. Hopefully today will be less

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb