CARNAVAL! Tilcara, Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Jujuy » Tilcara
February 17th 2010
Published: February 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Los DiablitosLos DiablitosLos Diablitos

These guys all dressed up, from five years old to fifty, get the crowd goingggg!
Well, I got to Tilcara, Argentina on Friday night and decided to hit the bank in order to pay for my hostel... that´s when I realized, I was missing my debit card. Well, I immediatly panicked; considering I had two pesos on me (not kidding, two pesos), am traveling alone so I can´t just borrow money from a friend, plus, it was friday night so the banks were already closed. On top of that, it was the weekend of Carnaval, so the banks were closed until Tuesday. I went into a tour agency, on the verge of tears, asking about a hotel in order to use my credit card to pay, but the town is so small, no one accepts credit cards. Well, I walked into the right place, they were the nicest people- lent me money for food and a hostel until the banks opened, paid for me to call my family to wire me money, got me the international number for visa in order for me to cancel my card- any way the could have helped me, they did. I have decided that if there is any time to lose your card and be bummed out, it´s during a
Amigos de SaltaAmigos de SaltaAmigos de Salta

Pablo y Nicolás, from Salta, Argentina. Friends that I met walking through the plaza friday night.
big festival like Carnaval... you don´t have time to pout in your room, just time to dejar la mala situación en el cuarto y hacer fiesta!!

After canceling my card, I went on a walk through the plaza and met three guys from Salta, Argentina. We had a few drinks and I called it a night, a bed and my book sounded great. Saturday was the beginning of Carnaval and I knew I wasn´t going to be taking it easy for the rest of the weekend. Ohhh Carnaval... let´s just say, we do NOT know how to party in the good ´ol US of A. I got up Saturday morning, headed to the plaza and ran into the same guys, whom had already opened up a bottle of Fernet and Coke. We had a nice morning cocktail starting around 10am, moved on to beer then over to boxed wine mixed with Fanta or Coke (so popular here but really, surprisingly not thatttt terrible!), I think I had consumed every type of cocktail available in Argentina by the next morning. At around noon we were following the band and dancing through the streets and didn´t stop until about 5am the
AmgiosAmgiosAmgios

...And we ended up spending the whole weekend partying together.
following morning. The party doesn´t stop for three days, suchhh a blast!

After Carnaval, I had to wait in Tilcara until Tuesday when the banks reopened in order to get the money out that my parents wired me. Well, the town was so small that they didn´t have the amount of cash that they needed to get out for me (the rule is that you have to extract all of what is wired, can´t just get a portion of it). So, my mom wired a different amount, that basically covered my hostel and an empanada. Fortunatly, tengo suerte, two guys that stayed in my hostel were just stopping by for a night while bringing veggies from one town to the next. I squeezed in the truck and they dropped me off at a bus station 50km oustide of my next destination so that I could afford the bus ticket!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Fiesta y ComidaFiesta y Comida
Fiesta y Comida

The music and dancing doesn´t stop all day and night; crowds follow the bands from one party to another. At one party in the middle of the day, a bunch of people from town had prepared a ton of food in a shack outside and were giving it out to everyone for free. I walked up to the counter, the woman asked me ¨¿has comido?¨ (have you eaten?), I said no and she said, ¨bueno, entonces dame las manos¨ (give me your hands), then plopped a mountain of steamed potatoes in one hand and a chunk of meat in the other!
Bien BlancoBien Blanco
Bien Blanco

Everywhere you look, everyone is covered in ¨Talco¨ y ¨Espuma¨. When you are walking through the streets, people come up behind you and throw the chalkdust in your face. I had it everywhere from my eyes to my toes.
AmigossssAmigossss
Amigossss

Boxed wine and Coke cocktail, anyone??
CaravanCaravan
Caravan

Everyone in town follows the bands through the streets from one party to the next.
Caravan to the partyCaravan to the party
Caravan to the party

Once you get to another big, empty dirtpatch, the party starts... dancing, costumes, espuma, talco, drinks, etc.
TALCO!TALCO!
TALCO!

Imagine this, in your eyes, about every 2 seconds. In your eyes, hair, nose, mouth, ears, shirt, toes...
Nuevos AmigosNuevos Amigos
Nuevos Amigos

Everyone I met in Tilcara had come from Salta to celebrate Carnaval.
Todo BiennnTodo Biennn
Todo Biennn

bien contenos
y sigan...y sigan...
y sigan...

party goes allllll dayyyy and alllll nightttt.
la bandala banda
la banda

In the beginning of the night there was a folklore band, at the end of the night the party ended with these guys.
Tilcara, ArgentinaTilcara, Argentina
Tilcara, Argentina

Tilcara was a dusty little town surrounded in mountains of every color.
La FronteraLa Frontera
La Frontera

This was the prettiest border crossing I have ever seen, from Bolivia to Argentina.
La FronteraLa Frontera
La Frontera

Just walk across the bridge, through the forest, and you´re in a different country. traquilo.
Sorry Mom...Sorry Mom...
Sorry Mom...

I know my mom won´t be too happy about this but, with empty pockets I didn´t have many options... On Tuesday I went to the bank, excited to finally get the money my parents wired me but the town was so small that the bank didn´t have enough cash to give me (the rule is you have to extract all of the money wired, can´t just get a portion of it). So two men that were bringing veggies from one town to the next (that were in my hostel), dropped me off at a bus station 50km outside of my next destination, Salta, Argentina, so I could afford a cheaper bus ticket!
La Verdad!La Verdad!
La Verdad!

¨Concretar en tu vida una experiencia hermosa depende en ti¨ (A beautiful experience in your life, depends on you)


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb