Parque Nacional del Condorito


Advertisement
Published: March 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Preface 1: I apologise for tipos and bad English. I usually write my entries in the evening after long days and either on an Argentinian keyboard or on my cell phone.

Preface 2: Who is reading my blog at 12 pm (Argentina) / 4 am (Switzerland)??

You're planning a trip to Córdoba? Visit the Parque Nacional del Condorito! Already the bus trip to the Sierras is amazing (2h) and having around 25 degrees compared to the 34 in the city is very nice. The hiking through the park is comparable to a Niederhorn trip, but there's just silence, no people, and an endless view. (Un)fortunately, we didn't see any pumas or snakes. However, after 2h we reached the canyon where the condores fly. It's one of only a few places in the world, where these birds live...and there are many of them! We (btw: we = me and an English couple) didn't have to search for them, they were flying all the time and came very close. So the time flew too and we had to go back to the entrance of the park. Btw, there is no shop, no nothing, just a little house where people register and with some toilets. There's also no bus stop at the park, you just tell the driver where you want to leave the bus and that you'll go back in the evening. Since you must sit in the bus, they can't pick you up if there are no free seats. Therefore we had bought already a return ticket in the morning for the bus leaving the next city at 4 pm and started waiting for the bus at around 4:10. The bus should have been there around 4:30...at 4:20 it started raining (it's in the Sierras, so at around 2000 m, and it gets quite cool and dark and unpleasant)...and when the bus came at 5 we were wet, cold, and very tired. But still, I absolutely recommend this trip!!

The day ended with a spontaneous asado at the hostel (Benja, I'm glad you joined us), which of course didn't start before 11 pm and ended for me rather early at 2 am since I was very tired after the day in the park.

Epilogue: I'm still terrorised by mosquitos 😞 Apart from that I love it here (although it's very hot today) and there are only 3.5 days left in Córdoba...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb