Puerto Madryn


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Puerto Madryn
January 19th 2009
Published: January 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The bus ride from Buenos Aires to Puerto Madryn was very easy. The sleeper busses here are very comfortable and the most leave late night to get to their destination during the day. I have met so many great people traveling. I probably will not keep in touch with most, but for those one or two nights you hang out together, you feel very close. It´s weird. People come and people go. Everyone from so many different places are here to do the same thing.

My hostel is very nice. I met Natalie here in the hostel. She is from Germany and has been traveling for a long time already throught the world. The two of us decided to book a tour of Punto Tombu for the following day. The hostel helped to set up the tour for the two of us. Punto Tombo is the largest reserve for Magellin Panguins in the world. Its gorgeous there. The ride was a bit longer than an hour from here. There are said to be over 400,000 penguins on the reserve. You walk around and no matter where you look there are penguins around walking, sleeping, swimming, bathing and feeding. Its funny after a while, but it´s tough to describe. At the same time you would not expect it but there are lamas and sheep in the area too. We were able to spend a lot of time at the reserve because our so small.

We also took a boat ride to go dolphin watching. I came here expecting to see whales and orcas as well, but I guess the season ends in December for them. The dolphins were amazing. Again, there were so many of them coming up to the boat. They are tough to capture on camera because they are incredibly fast, but I got a couple of good shots and a video.

I´ve decided to head tonight to Bariloche to hopefully take spanish classes for a week or two. Bariloche is in the mountains so I figure it would not be a bad place to spend some time. From there I will head south to Mt. Fitz Roy to do some hiking. I hear the bus ride from Bariloche to the south is long and very bumpy along that side of the country. No worries though, I will worry about that when I have too.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



21st January 2009

PENQUINS
did u pick up a penquin to bring home for me?
21st January 2009

Where the Pictures at?
Are you uploading pictures to anywhere? Setup a Flickr account or something! I want to see Dolphins! Uber Jealous of your travels, Adam

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb