Velez Sarsfield


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
July 20th 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went with one of my students to see the quarter finals of the Copa Libertadores, the biggest club competition in South American football. With the score at 0-0 after the first leg in Guadalajara, I expected a bit more effort from the Velez players. Sadly their effort didn't materialise until the last 10 minutes by which time it was already too late. They lost 2-1 in the end.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The CanchaThe Cancha
The Cancha

I really liked the ground, built in 1978 for the World Cup. I didn't like staring through the fence to see the match though!
The CrowdThe Crowd
The Crowd

I loved being surrounded by blue and white again. It made me miss watching my team, Brighton & Hove Albion, back in England.
Shopping!Shopping!
Shopping!

You can buy all the flags and hats you want inside the ground.
Food. Super pancho!Food. Super pancho!
Food. Super pancho!

Hungry? The hot dog man comes round frequently, as does the man with his nuts.


25th July 2006

looks great
This is wonderful guys, you have some really beautiful pictures here. I really canĀ“t wait to read about all your adventures.

Tot: 0.659s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 41; qc: 149; dbt: 0.3744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb