La Ultima Parada


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
April 26th 2007
Published: April 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Buenos Aires ObeliskBuenos Aires ObeliskBuenos Aires Obelisk

In middle of the widest street in the world, so you would think that there wouldn't be so much traffic with 9 lanes going each way, but no, it doesn't work like that.
The last stop

I decided to spend the last week of my trip in Buenos Aires starting to wind down and prepare myself for the transition back home. A great week in a great city. Made some new friends, ate delicious food, and heard some fantastic tango music. Everyone should experience the magic of Buenos Aires at least once in their life.

It has been quite the journey when I reflect back on all the amazing experiences I have had over the past few months. Everyone told me before I left that I would go through much self reflection and discovery... and they were right, even though I doubted it at the time. I have learned to appreciate other cultures in a new way- and I especially have so much respect for anyone who can speak more than one language. Traveling in Central and South America, I realized just how huge this world is- being constantly dwarfed by volcanoes and glaciers. But as I met other travelers from all over the world it also taught me how small the world is and how similar all of us are despite our different cultures, languages, and geographies.. I have become more spiritual- something I didn't even think I had in me. I learned how important history is- a subject I never had much interest in before has now become fascinating to me. And I have graduated from being a tourist to being a traveler.

I have also come to appreciate the kindness of strangers. Thank you to all the *guardian angels* who popped up throughout this trip and helped me make it all the way through Central America and down to South America with a broken ankle. I could not have done this alone, and although I was a "solo traveler"- I certainly had plenty of friends with me along the way.

Also, thank you to everyone back home for all your support during my trip. I have missed all of you and getting your emails and messages of encouragement really kept me going. Can't wait to connect again when I get back home. And just think, since you've been following the blog, there won't be any long, drawn out photo sessions!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

La Casa RosadaLa Casa Rosada
La Casa Rosada

The famous presidential palace- where Evita used to make her speeches
The ZooThe Zoo
The Zoo

Rhinocerous with big buildings behind him. The zoo is right in the middle of the Palermo neighborhood in middle of city
MALBAMALBA
MALBA

Museum of Modern Art that housed the David LaChapelle exhibit
MALBAMALBA
MALBA

Light exhibit outside of museum that responded to sounds
Futbol!Futbol!
Futbol!

Velez (Argentina) vs. Emelec (Columbia)
Futbol game 3Futbol game 3
Futbol game 3

This is the *Hooligan* who they roll out and shake around so it looks like he is dancing. Quite amusing- and the crowd goes crazy!
Lisa & RamiroLisa & Ramiro
Lisa & Ramiro

Ramiro was our driver for the game and my link to what was going on during the game. He spoke only a little English, but at one point leaned over to me during the game and said "I like you too"... So I said, "Yeah, I like you too" Not realizing until he pulled out the foto of Bono that he was saying "I like U2"
Christian at gameChristian at game
Christian at game

Friend from Berlin who I tagged along with to the game. We had some good nights in Buenos Aires.
Brian & SarahBrian & Sarah
Brian & Sarah

From San Francisco & Arizona
ChoriPan!ChoriPan!
ChoriPan!

In San Telmo


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb