Hola from Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » La Plata
April 8th 2010
Published: April 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My plane waiting to loadMy plane waiting to loadMy plane waiting to load

A fairly low cost airline with OK service and movies on a big screen
Another travel adventure has started with me visiting my daughter who lives in Argentina. So budget air line Aerolineas Argentinas took me to La Plata, small plane, but had nice travelling companions and 2 glasses of red wine and i can sleep anywhere.
Arrived and followed a 2 page list of instructions to get to Hannah in La Plata which is one hour from Buenos Aires.
First i had to get my luggage including a guitar which was travelling fragile, well it was supposed to be but it was on the converyor belt with all the other stuff, had my packback which had Hannahs oboe worth $5000-, 26 kgs of luggage in my suitcase, again mostly Hannahs and found my way through customs and to the first step.

Buy one bus ticket to the big bus depot in Bn Ar. The lady was really helpful and helped me with unfamiliar currency and sounds, and pointed me in the right direction of the bus. Got on and waited and eventually took off to the bus companys terminal.
From there i had to go on the minibus to the Retiro which is the major bus terminal in Bn Ar.

Next step unload me and my 3 bits of luggage and find my way upstairs to ticket counter 5. Buy one ticket por favor to La Plata, success and i even understood to go to platform 1 or 2.

Now ring person who is picking me up from La Plata bus terminal, so go to the Cabninas and ask for a telephone and ring. Well did that but the number did not want to connect and who knows what the message said. So another phone and success. Mind you one guitar, one big suitcase and one packback was a tight squeeze in the little phone booth.

Now back to platform 1 or 2 to get the bus.
Now heres where i made the mistake of going to the platform on the other side of the building and waiting and waiting but saw no buses at all. Taxis and cars and people coming and going but no buses.

Ah ha, i say after 30 minutes maybe i am in the wrong spot so i took me and my luggage for a wander after trying unsuccessfully in my best spanish to ask where the buses go from. And i found them all lined up on the other side of the building.

Within a couple of minutes all my luggage and me were safely on the bus and headed for La Plata.
1 hour later, 2 very relieved friends of Hannah met me at the terminal and Hannah arrived within minutes too.
Success.
Getting a taxi to take 4 of us and the bag was another problem but 6 taxis later one had boot room, so we were off.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

My first busMy first bus
My first bus

The bus from the airport to the bus terminal in Buenos Aires
Mini vanMini van
Mini van

This took me from the bus companies terminal to the big terminal
RetiroRetiro
Retiro

Waiting for the non existent bus on the wrong side of the building
Taxis Taxis
Taxis

Hiring taxis is a must in a city where cars are old or most people do not have one


Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb