Old stomping grounds


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » La Plata
January 11th 2007
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bats!Bats!Bats!

Kinda hard to see, I know, but this was the best I could do. This is Mama bat with her two babies!
So I made it to camp on Sunday, back to the old stomping grounds. Things have changed from last year. The largest change is there used to be two families that lived in the farm house together. Emeliano and Javier are brothers, but I guess Javier and his wife split up. She took the kids with her, and Javier left, so that was a shock. I got this information from Roberto, the taxi driver. Roberto has two young sons, so I gave him the modeling clay I lugged down that was originally intended for Javier´s kids. Bummer.

The good news is that the crew this year is bigger and everyone seems super cool. The Diegos are Argentinian (they both have the same name), Tobias is German, Marie is Canadian, and Ross is from Wisconsin. I´m glad to see Luciano is getting good business! We all get along well and we all have fleas. I haven´t had a real shower in six days, and did I mention it´s hot and humid? Truth is, it´s not that bad. We have bug spray and a 5 gallon sun shower. We nest search every morning and measure chicks every evening. It´s fun to be around biologists and the birds again, and it´s also nice to be in my own tent without having to worry about guarding my stuff all the time. That gets old when you´re on the move.

All in all, there´s not too much adventure to report. Today is my day off, so Marie and I caght a bus into town (using the flailing arms tactic, mind you) so I could catch up with this site and let everyone know I´m not dead. So I hope all is swell in the states!
Take care!

Advertisement



16th January 2007

Queeeeeeee??
Hola danielle! Volviste?? Como no me viniste a visitar!?? Te voy a matar si no te veo antes de que te vayas de vuelta! Un beso Maxi

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb