Homecoming


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Claypole
June 11th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m back.

I cannot possibly describe how wonderful it feels to be back here. The only comparable feeling I can think of is the first day back at camp every year after missing it every day for 11 months. Every time I look around, my sense of excitement is renewed. Of course, it helps that I have already revisited a lot from last year.

My plane arrived this morning around 8:30. I figured out how to use my phone (despite you know, being the same phone as last year, it seems to have an entirely different personality now) by 10. I was picked up by my good friend from last year, Sebastián, and his aunt, Mara.

Mara is quite the diva. She has incredible jewelry and refuses to take off her sunglasses in public. When she found out I sell Mary Kay, she was very excited, as she is a lifetime devotee.

After a delicious home-cooked lunch (homeboy´s got his chef on, I´m very impressed), we set off for the city. We dropped Mara off at the ferry station for her return to her home on the beaches of Uruguay. Seba and I then walked into the city to the school I attended last year. Along the way, we came across two tourists who seemed very lost. Despite the fact that their guide book and map were both written in an Asian alphabet (and, you know, they were very obviously asian), Sebastián thought they would be easier helped in English then Spanish. It´s a good thing they didn´t understand English either, because instead of asking "Are you lost?" he asked them "Are you losers?" Yeah, I guess you can go home again 😊

When we got to the school, all the administrative staff seemed to remember me and be happy to see me. I also saw one of my old teachers. I then re-lived even more of last year by accompanying Seba and a group of students on the tour of Lezama Park in San Telmo.

After a ride back home to Claypole in a train smelling STRONGLY of illicit substances, I FINALLY got to shower and get ready to attend a birthday party for Seba´s friend Victoria. We were picked up by his good friends Agustin, Cecilia, and another name that escapes me at the moment. The bond between all of them was palpable, and reminded me a lot of my friends back home.

Anyhow, when I find a card reader (doofus here left her usb for her little camera on top of her bed in Tempe) I will actually publish this. Buenas Noches.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



14th June 2008

you rock
Hi A, Everything sounds so great. I hated when your entries ended. I could have keep reading. You have become a visiting dignitary! I am so proud of you. I wish I was there to watch you in action! Keep those posts coming! I love you tons! Wicked

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0906s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb