Eating Blood


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Like every day, today started cold and dark, with corn flakes and tea. Class was again about 4 hours, and we talk, as usual, almost exclusively in Spanish. We covered "si" clauses ('if' phrases - they're actually kind of annoying because the tenses are very specific that you can use...if I'd had that, I would have done that, etc.), which is good because I'm bad at them. We also discussed the future tense and, of course, general talk.

For lunch, we went and found a local restaurant that consisted of an almost-outdoor grill and about 6 tables. Of which we took 4. I ordered morci. As those of you who followed me last year know, I very much enjoy going to restaurants in other countries and ordering foods which I don't recognize or know the names of. This was that situation. For those of you who don't speak Spanish - or do, since really it's not a common word - morci is blood sausage. I did not know that. I also did not love it. It's not as bad as it sounds, although I certainly wouldn't go suggesting it to anyone who hasn't tried it. The texture is actually the weirdest part of it, more than the taste or thought of eating cooked blood. If nothing else, it proved an interesting lunch.

After that, we had a continuation of our lecture on Argentine history - this time covering up until more or less now. Two girls and I left from there to change at our respective houses and go for a run, which is certainly one of the stranger things I've done here. Around the parks there are plenty of runners, but I feel like an Argentine running elsewhere would get more weird looks than me walking, which is a lot since I'm quite aryan and Argentines are very much not. So you can imagine the looks when I went running on the street through Once (/ohn-say/, the district where the girls live) to pick them up. We ran about 2 miles to the same park as yesterday, where we played more frisbee and saw some fireworks that were probably set off for Independence Day tomorrow.

After walking home and eating dinner, we're now getting ready to go out, because we have birthdays of people and countries to celebrate! I fully plan on using our day off tomorrow to sleep through it, but I'm sure there's always more exploring to do.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb