South America, Day 18: Buenos Aires, Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 15th 2014
Published: August 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last night I arrived at my hotel to find out I got an upgrade! And the best part is I have a spa bath!!!!! In the morning I slept in, had an omelet and croissant thing and then walked around the streets. The first thing I thought when I got to Buenos Aires is that it looks like a great place to shop! But walking around the streets around my hotel I found everything was so expensive and you know it is when they have their own security guards in every shop! Must find some cheaper shops somewhere. Anyway I did splurge on laundry at my hotel so kind of don't want to spend anything else at the moment. Later in the day I went to a street art and graffiti tour as Buenos Aires is well known for this. I turned up to the meeting point but our guide was late as he had slept in and got caught in traffic. Once he arrived he was actually really good, he knew heaps about the art as he had worked with some of the artists and was an artist himself. The people in the tour kind of ruined it though as one couple were terribly hungover and kept stopping to buy food, and the two other girls were gossiping the whole time. But meh I still found it interesting and enjoyed it. After that I had to take a taxi home as it was getting dark. I had to wave a taxi down, to which I just got a taxi driver waving back at me and driving off. After many attempts I finally got one. The taxi driver tried to teach me how to speak Spanish. I told him the few words I knew and then he tried to get me to say a street name properly by rolling the R which I can't do so we both ended up laughing. After my taxi ride/Spanish lesson I decided to go out for dinner at a Mexican restaurant I saw along the way. It was ok, it filled me up so that was the main thing. It is kind of weird eating by yourself though, luckily they had a TV going so could watch that. I have booked a half day tour tomorrow So looking forward to that (I wasn't going to as I do one with contiki but kind of want to see more of Buenos Aires sooner). I found out that I won't be able to load any more pics until I get back to nz as the computer doesn't recognise my Samsung tablet and also the Internet is too slow on the computer. I will put them all up when I get back to nz, and I'll put them on the blog first before I upload any on facebook. Adios!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



15th August 2014

Hi Melissa Boy I bet you are enjoying your upgrade with a spa bath after not having a shower for several days trekking. The painter has come today to plaster our bedroom.Yay we are pleased to have it looking nice. Snowbee is a rascal I put her out and she somehow knows when I am in the office and stands outside the office door crying. I can't take it and have to let her in. The weather here in n.z. is bitterly cold. Whats it like where you are. Probably warm eh. Bye for now Love you Melissa.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb