Buenos Aires...it's good to be back home...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 18th 2013
Published: March 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Moving to a new country for a year....and still be on the road the last four months, I know some will not understand me. Leslie and Tiffany have no started a new schoold year, nearly a month ago, and everything is going pretty well. Leslie is improving seriously fast with his castellano, Tiffany, it's something else. And as we have been here for long enough, everybody feel only normal to speak to me only in castellano...don't they say the best is to practise as much as you can?



I loved the comments of the Mums at school the first time they saw me after the summer holidays. The question being...so, are you really leaving end of June...or are you staying? Well....somewhere deep inside me, I wouldn't mind to stay..but there is a lot, and enough to say sincerely...we are leaving end of June.



I know, it sound crazy, but our little one year adventure in Argentina will already be over in less than 100 days. The day we are leaving, I will publish a blog about everything you would have really want to know about this country. I'm going to make some friends...and some maybe less...but there is a lot to write, that most tourists do not even imagine what is going on in this country. Ok, you may have heard few new things since we now have a new Pope...coming straight from Buenos Aires!



Leslie and Tiffany will spend most, if not all the next 100 days in Argentina, sadly for me, I have few things to do around the world to make sure the job is done...and obviously few bubbles too... Told you they have way more opportunities to practise their castellano than me!



We have also moved back to our flat. Everything is still in place, we love the place...and have a great landlady...so when you find something that works in this country...keep it, make life easier!



We are also back to ...food. Ok, I know that we have had our share of great food in Peru. In Argentina, you may not find the diversity and range of food that Bangkok offers...but what you find, is pretty amazing...and they finally have patagonian lamb in our local supermaket...not sure we are going to have this for long. Wine and lamb is just...15% of the price we would pay in Bangkok...I know, that 85% cheaper!



On my side, it's also a full month in Argentina...don't worry, we are moving around the next two weekends to pretty gorgeous places. So time also to finally discover some of the barrios I didn't visit lately...did I tell you I love this city?



So here are few pictures...we are back home till the end of June. If you want to visit us, it's time to get ready...because we will be moving pretty soon...I can't imagine how fast time is flying around here!



Next week-end, a lot of hours on a bus...for a Jesuit city...nothing to do with the new Pope...was planned way before...and than...it's Semana Santa...there will be loads of tourists around...but one of the most amazing site of South America for us...not a first for me...but something for my two little ones...they should go wow!



Oh, and don't believe that lady with way too much plastic surgeries who is claiming there is no inflation here...subway rides increased by 40% in one shot this week....and at the same time, all airlines tickets are now having an additional 20% tax on...but hey, I nearly got my way around! Not a great time to be Argentinian....still a great country to spend a year in...if you know what you are doing! That's just a little appetizer of what is coming here once we have left the country!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



22nd March 2013

Buenos Aires
despues de menos de una semana de vuelta a casa : que ganas de volver ya !!!
23rd March 2013

what next?
Y a dónde os vais a ir a vivir después de Argentina? ;o)
23rd March 2013

Hi!
"Few months" on the road...than back to Bangkok end of 2013...so few more adventures before the end of the year...
24th March 2013

Embracing South America
As always you are squeezing each ounce of pleasure and adventure out of your travels. The kids look happy. The paella looks great.

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb