Gay Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
September 19th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Since my last post i was getting ready to go to a Gay Milonga (tango club) for my Gay Buenos Aires class. I dragged my housemate and new partner in crime Susana (we"re the only 2 in our house the have to make the trek to the global campus in retiro/recoleta everyday so we pretty much stick together for everything) with me and after arriving 20 minutes late we finally found the club in San Telmo. I cant say it was awesome because the teacher wasnt super psyched that we were all there and we learned the same basic steps over and over again for an hour. it was cool though because it was a classic tango club in the neighborhood where tango was born (it was also kind of mysterious walking up the stairs and finding the class behind a black curtain 😊. Tango is beautiful and romantic but very slow, i think for me to enjoy dancing it, it would all depend on the partner. i like the faster latin dances like bachata and salsa that i got a small taste of while back in the states and have been dying to find a place to keep practicing. as fate would have it on the bus ride back i met a musician that plays at a salsa club that put the information about the club in my phone and gave me a card so i could contact him for more information. its times like these that make me love Buenos Aires, when people are helpful and excited that you are trying to learn spanish and immerse yourself in the culture. i only wish that all of my encounters could be so pleasant.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb