A week in BA


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
November 1st 2010
Published: November 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had to move to a different hostel due to travel plans change and the inability to stay at the one where I was at. This new one being a hot house of youthful travellers with a love of the Internet has made it hard to get online, but in short for the past couple of days I managed to get to Recoleta and the cemetery and to visit the tomb Eva Peron, very interesting place to spend some time, and then Recoleta is also a good shopping or in my case, window shopping district. Yesterday I went to the San Telmo district for the Sunday street fair. Lots of good artisans and also good pickpockets. I found someoneś hand in my satchel pocket but no worries, there was nothing there to grab. The vendor I was speaking with is the one who stopped the thief, actually two of them, one on my side pushing against me for a distraction and the other with a paw where it shouldnẗ be.

Today I went to Colonia Uruguay by means of the hydrofoil across the Rio Plata. The river is supposed to be the widest river in the world and it took over an hour to cross. It was like night and day to compare the hustle and bustle of BA with the quiet of the colonial town. Walked around the old part of town and then took the boat back. Saw some tango dancing in the street but have not gone to a show and won΅t have time this go around, must return home earlier than anticipated.

Advertisement



1st November 2010

BA
Hey Sandy: I wish I had gone over the Uruguay but time did not permit it. There is a foreign TDY there recently for blueberry fumos. Turned it down. I really want to get the Spain assignment, but haven't seen it posted yet. I loved the cemetery (and all the cats). Did you happen to see the crypt where the young girl had been buried alive? I loved Recoleta and you're right, the stores are fantastic. My brother-in-law got himself a beautiful leather jacket and shoes there. Keep writing...I love it...really giving me the travel fever. Marilyn
1st November 2010

Hi Sandy, I left a message for Alex yesterday reminding him he has a court date today on Nov 1st. He never called me back but hope he made it there. Love, Josette
2nd November 2010

Rgauy
keyboard is missing mosty of its letters in tyhis hostel, makes me wish I had paid more attention to touch typing in high school the main fault of the tfy in uruguay is that it would be guir¡te short, although you do get a free ticket to that part of the world. but Valenica although an interesting city comes with the package of the clementine orange preclearance program, which I did not find very very monitored and the spanish inspectors not exactly bubbluing over withfriendliness towards us as we tried to do our job. maybe its better now. i did get to see a lot of spain
2nd November 2010

alex
thank you josete. i think hre made it okayu. its his problem if he didnñt go. the hostel keyboard on the public computer is missing most of its letters. oh well, makes it a bit of a challenge. see you soon. love
2nd November 2010

alec
i think he remembered to go but if not then thats his problem but i do appreciate your calling him. see you soon. love sandy

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb