El Dia Secunda en Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
October 27th 2010
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today is my second day in Buenos Aires. Yesterday, due to the fitful sleep on the plane my biological clock needed to be reset, so I walked from the hotel in the bright sunlight ( pineal gland on alert ) to a bank to use the automatic teller, which was not successful for me, a bit worrisome, but I will work it out. Then went to sleep in the middle of the afternoon. Woke up at some unknown time ( watch not corrected for local time ) and went to the lobby to talk with the very nice reception clerks. Found out it was 8 pm, so went to the local restaurant attached to the hostel again and had a very good plate of salumi, two kinds of cheeses, olives, and a basket of bread with a glass of red wine for dinner. Then went walking locally and found that the streets were alive with many walkers, families and children. Very nice.

Today I found out that it is a day of the national census, so everything is closed, including the Recolata cemetary which I planned to visit before leaving to take a bus south tomorrow to Bariloche. So may have to spend another day here, not a hardship at all. I checked my email, and I had received a message from my cicerone, a local guide who is part of a volunteer network in BA, ands she and I plan to meet later this afternoon after the census taker has arrived at her home to take census information. She said that Recoleta is closed today but she and I can take a walk. Sounds great.

The hostel had their breakfast at the upstairs bar area since the usual place, the restaurant below where I have been eating, is closed. Breakfast was media luna, croissants, or toast, with coffee with butter and little containers of dulce de leche.

The sky is a little overcast and the temperatures in the mid seventies F. It will be a nice day.



Advertisement



27th October 2010

Sandy: Good morning. I wrote you back yesterday and wonder if you're getting these comments? There is a box at the bottom of your blog for submitting them, but wonder if you're receiving them?
27th October 2010

Hi Marilyn
I did get your comment, but I´m still learning how to use this blog site, so I´m hoping that you get this response back. I will send another message to you via my gmail just to be sure. This is an amazing place.

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb