Arrival in Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
October 26th 2010
Published: October 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I left San Francisco yesterday mid day and had a couple of uneventful ( the best kind ) of flights, the first leaving SF for Lima Peru and getting there in the evening, the second leaving Lima for BA around 1 am, and arriving in Buenos Ares at about 0745 hrs. Time passing through the formalities went fairly quickly except for two unusual circumstances, one paying for the 140 USD reciprocal entry fee with travellers checks which i did not sign and were whisked away by the cashier, she later found me in the crowd of passengers queing up for currency exchange and asked me to wait until the checks could be brought done for me to sign, which I did. I think I got put into the Argentine equivalent of TECS database for fruit smugglers by reason of innocent mistake. Their declaration form asks if a person is carrying any seeds, so I asked her if almonds for consumption were prohibited, and indeed they were as she made a big fuss about taking them and had me sign an official form, but luckily no penalty was forthcoming, because I declared them maybe. although it would have been karmic retribution I think. Somebody else had a bag of guavas, I shudder to think what happened there. Then the Lonely Planet guide came through again with the name of a shuttle service from Rosario where the airport is located, to downtown BA, where the hotel is located, and what a ride that was, first in a big bus then in a cab, driver getting lost. Traffic is incredible here, very daring drivers and pedestrians either living lucky or for a very short time. I cannot begin to guess the age of this hotel although for starters it has 16 foot ceilings and a iron cage lift, which I havenĀ“t seen since my childhood in SF, not counting the very old hotel I stayed at in Alexandria Egypt.
Also the stairs are made of a beautiful wood, heavy polished planks of it, I'would like to know what it is. The bus trip amounted to a good tour of the city, past the pink presidential palace at the Plazo de Mayo. I made email contact with one of the Ciccerones of Buenos Aires, a volunteer guide service, trying to meet up with her to go to Recoleta cemetary to see the tomb of Eva Peron, or the Ecological Preserve at the edge of the city, or both. Maybe tomorrow we can get together. Had a good lunch of pasta and a glass of Malbec at the restaurant attached to the hotel. This city has a certain aura about it, very interesting, reminds me a little bit of the mood of Lisbon, with the sights of Valencia downtown.

Advertisement



28th October 2010

My message is short like myself (ajajajaja) but just wanted to say i am happy to hear from you, and very excited to hear you are having so much fun. We all miss you greatly hope to hear from you soon. I felt like i was their with you (very descriptive) Love always, julia
28th October 2010

Hi Julia
Hope all is well with you and thank you for your comment. This is a very nice city.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb