First days in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
October 21st 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola!


I arrived in Buenos Aires on Saturday 17th October and what a whirlwind it has been so far... The family I am living with live just outside la Capital Federal of Buenos Aires. Its a large suburb but I have not had time to explore it yet.
I was picked up by Mariano at the airport on Saturday and taken back to their casa. Like true latino style they made me feel so welcome. Nina is Marianos mother and she is the most hospitible woman I´ve ever met. My spanish is very small and so we cannot communicate properly yet... Due to jet lag I crashed around 3pm, and awoke at 9pm only to find out that dinner was almost ready. I ... Yes, in Argentina, like most latin or spanish countries, dinner is served around 930-10pm, on weekends we´re looking at 11pm.
Mariano then persuaded to have a look at Buenos Aires, it is clear that these gentes (people) do not go to bed early.
We drove around the city and night and it was so busy, even when we drove home around 230am, people were still only just arriving into the city for a night out.
On Sunday it was Mothers Day in Argentina. The Latinos love their mothers and so its always expected to be a huge day. And it was... I awoke to the sound of niños(children) running around the place. There were 7 in total, and later on 9. Ninas son and his family, Gustavo, had driven down from the region of Cordoba to surprise her on Mothers day.
Gustavo and Mariano both started a large parilla which is a huge argetinean bbq. On that BBQ was a whole cordera (lamb), no cuts just a whole lamb... then two huge rows of beef ribs. It was clear that these Argentinos love their carne (meat).
After a big day Mariano showed me how to get to the city from their place, el collectivo (bus) then the subte (subway). An interesting journey, one that I shall have to get used too..

Since then I have travelled by el collcetivo y subte to buenos aires 3 times... in peak hour...both ways... But Mariano has thankfully shown me a trick or too in regards to taking public transport.

1. As a general rule, keep your things close to you, preferably in front of you. Even the Argentinos always have one hand covering their bag even if they are sitting down. In saying that, I have never felt in danger on el collectivo or el subte. Really, you just need to be smart about where you put your belongings.

2. On the subway in Buenos Aires try not to hover where the doors open and close, if you have no other choice then dont worry its no importante. You may just be able to relax a little more if away from the doors. Oh and if you think you are going to get a seat on the subte in peak hour, you are laughing.

3. Do a spanish class, one week or one day. Just to get the basics. Depending on the duration of your stay, but if Buenos Aires is your first stop then you are off to travel south america, I sincerely recommend a week of spanish classes to get your pronunciation accurate. If Santiago o Mexico City is your first stop to South america do the same there.

4. On the same note as Spanish lessons, my friend from Colombia who now lives in Australia recommends a Latin American Phrasebook... And she speaks the language. She claimed it helps you to understand what phrases are best in what situation, how to ask simple questions (and how to reognise the answers). I tell you what, it has worked. Another hint, if you have room, buy a pocket size SpanishEnglish dictionary, I swear by it.

5. Carry a little pocket size notepad around with you. You can record phrases, questions, streets that you intend to explore, contacts and other quick information. Obviously no information that is going to get you into trouble, just the basics.

I have started voluneering at a NGO called Voluntario Global, today was my first day. In order to speed up my learning ability, Jesica (an Argentinas) only speaks spanish to me, unless I look totally perplexed. Mariano does the same and it allows me to listen to the language... however, the Argentinos accent is muy diferente to the rest of south american spanish. While the words are the same, they pronucians of "ll" and "y" are confusing... take a class and you will understand 😊
At Voluntario Global (translation: Volunteer Global) I will be helping with communications, web content editing and creation and also new avenues of marketing. My first day entailed getting to understand theirs missions, goals and their programs or projects that they hold at over 15 places in Buenos Aires. Their numbers in volunteers are growing and it is starting to get pretty serious. I am proud to be working with these people who are just the most genuine people, who want to give others a future.

My spanish classes are great and really helping me. I have picked up a lot in the past few days. I am starting to speak more and more spanish but my confidence is yet to grow. Maybe 1 or 2 cervezas and I will be talking away. I feel sorry for Jamie arriving sometime next week, he will be coming to Buenos Aires to a spanish speaking household. But I look forward to seeing him.

Any comments, questions or recommendations I would love to hear them, send me a message or email.

Besos xx

p.s. photos will follow...eventually





Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb