A few thoughts on the Argentine people


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 28th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This is my fifth time in Argentina, in 3 years. In December 2006, I decided to visit a country I knew nothing about to relieve the mundane existence in Canada. Pretty much just throwing darts on the map, I decided to come to Argentina. Well, Argentina is at the other end of the earth, and far away from Canada, so it fit my bill of getting away.

With absolutely no knowledge of Spanish and the country, I jumped on a flight and headed to Buenos Aires. I was hooked ever since...

How to explain this fascination? I am not quite sure, and I do not want to belabor on that. A standard answer I give goes as follows: Argentina is definitely not like Canada for one, its language is Spanish (some say Italian-ated Spanish) and sounds passionate and very distinct, its history is fascinating (and a bit too 'crazy' for modern North Americans or Europeans), its sprawling geography showcases any landscape you would want to see anywhere else (mountains, deserts, glacier, plains, sea, rivers, coasts, lakes, tropical zone, sierras/ hills....), its politics boisterous and in general, a very resourceful country, like Canada.

However, Argentina is a puzzle to many. One of the most famous economists, noble prize laureate, Paul Samuelson once remarked "There are 4 types of economies in the world: developed nations, developing nations, Japan and Argentina". Below I will put down some observations and thoughts on Argentina...these are totally my own and I do not claim scientific validity to them. Most of the thoughts and observations are on the Argentine people. For me, it is the most interesting concern when I go visit a place.

First of all, to paint the Argentina people with big brushes: imagine 35% of Spanish immigrants, 35% of Italian immigrants, the rest consists of Jewish, Middle Eastern, other European, and a minor population of asian immigrants and the native people. Mixing them over the centuries, then you get the Argentine people. The city and the province of Buenos Aires, Cordoba, Rosario, and Mendoza are said to have the most European immigrants. The further you go inland to the interior provinces, you see more people with the native mix, or equally more of the 'Hispanic' look. So depending on where you go in Argentina, you would notice the change in demographic/ ethnic composition. In Buenos Aires, Cordoba and Mendoza, what do people look like? Well, I would say that in general they have the Mediterranean look, strong facial features, high-bridged noses, deep eye-sockets, dark or blond hair. It is more frequent that the men here leave their faces slightly un-shaved so to have a scruffy (macho?) look. It is very common for them to have longer hair compared to North Americans, usually sporting a mullet covering down their necks. The girls in general dress well and make good use of make-ups. Women here seem to be of medium built compared to North American women and carry a hand-bag, in Buenos Aires, at least. (this is more similar to Europeans).

However, what I really like about Argentina and which North America lacks, is the warmth, passion and spontaneity exhibited by the people here. Argentina seems to have retained the Mediterranean roots of its immigrants, or maybe it is the latin culture in general where they throw their arms open (in general) to foreigners and strangers. Some say they are the Europeans without the attitude. I don't know if all will agree with that characterization...however, I do feel welcomed and at home every time I am here. People greet and make eye contacts with you; they want to show you their cities, their villages, their people and are happy to chat with you. They are not afraid to embrace you and spend quality time with you...this the North Americans would rarely do. The importance of human relationships seem to be so naturally embodied here, you feel it is part of daily life. In the developed world, we seem to have become so atomic in the units of our lives, that we no longer spend time with friends, with family and with strangers.

Argentina is also a land of contrasts, contradictions, and extraordinary events, depending on how you look at it:
* The pavement of Plaza 25 de Mayo in front of the presidential palace, Casa Rosada, seems to be in a state of permanent deterioration, broken and dirty, that it betrays a symbol of national power. However, if you go to certain cities in Pantagonia such as El Calafate or Ushuia, you feel like in Europe, so modern, clean and well-maintained.
* The population in general is very well-educated (you would know when you travel and chat with the younger people in middle class and up). However the country does not seem to be generating jobs that utilize their skills and educations. ( misallocation of resources, perhaps?)
* Some (minority of) people are very rich ane well-off, and form certain upper scale neighborhoods in various cities, with private security and a North American or European living standards while you have many in dire poverty, and there seems to be no political will to change it.
* The most European country in South America, but had tragic episodes in its history, including the military dictatorship from 1976 to 1983 (about 25 years ago it ended) and the Falkland War/ Las Malvinas and where people have high level of distrust for governments and politicians.
* Nowhere did I find a people with such a high level of civic consciousness as to what need to be done, and how things need to change in Argentina, however this high level of civic consciousness seems fail to translate into real political and social changes.
* A resource rich country, however, the richness of resource does not seem to translate into richness for the general population and into investments that would continue generating future benefits.

Much of these can be explained by the fact that Argentina is a sprawling country running through the trajectory of history with diverse regions, diverse constituents and diverse interests held together by imperfect institutions, unstable political processes and less-than-ideal democratic traditions. Some would also add the legacy of Juan Domingo Peron, military dictatorship, the evildoing of Carlos Menem, and the subversive hands of the US government and its goons in CIA to the brew. (I do not claim infallibility in any of these views.)

I can go on more...however, I think I will comment accordingly as I go.
Despite all its idiosyncrasies, I have to say I love Argentina for its people and its culture. That is why I came back again and again. How distinct and fascinating this country is in its constitution, language, culture, music, landscape and life-styles! I just love it!

I will stop here, and go get something to eat. To wrap up this blog, I will post some pictures I took in the city of Buenos Aires yesterday where a marketing campaign was pushed out on Avenida Santa Fe, the shopping and recreational district of the city, for the grand opening of a new HP store. I will also attach the link of Libertango by Astor Piazolla, the most original Argentine nuevo tango composer. Enjoy!

&feature=fvw

Advertisement



31st August 2009

Looking at Buenes Aires
Noted your comments with interest. My wife & I are looking at a holiday & Buenes Aires is on our list.Everyone that I speak to love BA but I still dont have a sense about how we would spend 2-3 weeks. We enjoy visiting cities/countries to reach out to local restaurants/neighborhoods etc including out of the way towns. Can yo provide me some more info on what a visit to Argentina and specifically BA might entail. ( We are from Edmonton )
3rd September 2009

VERY INTERESTING!!!
I've read your blog about my country and I found it very clever. You have a strong ability for observation, which is, I'm afraid, something that's getting rare nowadays. I have to confess that, reading the first lines, when you mentioned Canada as an opposite to Argentina my first thought was "let's go there, I can´t stand any more of this...". But, maybe social life is very important to me to leave my own nest behind. Enjoy your 5th. stay in Argentina and come back again. Daniel
5th September 2009

Nice to know!
Hey Eric I really liked to read this opinion, was very ,very interested, it's nice to know your point of view. I like to read ,that you love my country jeje :) , and I thaught "oh god" we are losing a lot of things, our culture it's changing everyday , and like you said, luckily there's people " consciousness" , cuz we have to keep all the best of our culture , cuz if we lose it , Argentina wont be the same. However we have to develop, but with out lose the most important thing, our custumes. So keep coming to Argentina, you are always welcome , and dont forget Cordoba je.. Chao chao ..
5th September 2009

Nice to know!
Hey Eric I really liked to read this opinion, was very ,very interested, it's nice to know your point of view. I like to read ,that you love my country jeje :) , and I thaught "oh god" we are losing a lot of things, our culture it's changing everyday , and like you said, luckily there's people " consciousness" , cuz we have to keep all the best of our culture , cuz if we lose it , Argentina wont be the same. However we have to develop, but with out lose the most important thing, our custumes. So keep coming to Argentina, you are always welcome , and dont forget Cordoba je.. Chao chao ..
17th March 2010

Porteño Forever!
I love your article. As a porteño i feel im a citizen of the world. I really like the fact that people from Buenos Aires is open minded, peacefull and funny. I also admire a lot of civic consciousness of canadian people. I was born in Belgrano and i live my youth thru the 80s and 90s in Argentina. Lovely Period! Hope you come back to visit us Andres
9th August 2010

wow! it's wonderful to read someone write such lovely things about Argentina, and even to read how acerted you are about the negative parts. Now wonder why you feel so warm here, I'd hug any foreign person who talks which such respect towards our culture. I've heard some nasty thoughts about people from Buenos Aires though, I've been told we are kind of arrogant! Maybe that's also true haha. I've always wanted to visit Canada! Hope I do someday! I also hope you never cease feeling welcomed here :)
13th November 2010

Hey Mercedes
Hi Mecedes, I assume that is your name...thanks for the comment. I have not accessed the site for a long time. Yeah, I love Argentina a lot, for me it is a wonderful place, in its own ways. I especially love the people I have met, they have always been very kind to me. Hope we can chat more some time. Take care. Eric
4th September 2011

Seriously man, i dont know what are you talking about, or where have you met all these"warm" people??? I my self, have visited both the North-American countries an almost all the Southern and Center-American countries, and i have to disagree with your opinion. I find Argentinian people reserved and especially the B.A "porteños" people cold and very often arrogant and for me it is way easier to socialize with North-Americans or people like Colombians or Chileans, and i honestly cannot flag to your opinion. Greetings form Scandinavia.
17th September 2011

really liked your thoughts
hey please let me update the link of the song libertango, since it\'s no longer available on youtube, this one is an electronic and a bit jazzy fusion with tango, and with great performances http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYo1GDPu5s4 hope you people enjoy it. Greetings from Salta, Argentina ;)
24th September 2011

Come to the north part!
Im argentine, so sory for my poor english level. If you come to Argentina, go to the north, cities like Salta or Tucuman, the landscape here are full of mountains and jungle, convined with large cities, plus the people here are realy kind. In fact, Buenos Aires people are hated bi the rest of the people here, because they are so selfish, when they visit the north in the summer vacations, the city becomes a "trash can" becouse they are dirty people. The hospitality of people in north is the best part of us.
18th January 2012

May be a Foreign Exchange Student to Argentina.
Hello! I am going to be a Foreign Exchange Student next year, and my first country of choice was Argentina. Please tell me, before you went for the first time, did you know very much Spanish? If not, did you have much trouble communicating with the people there? Also, what is the living standard majority there? I am from the US. Does it compare to the United States?
20th January 2012

Hello! I am going to be a Foreign Exchange Student next year, and my first country of choice was Argentina. Please tell me, before you went for the first time, did you know very much Spanish? If not, did you have much trouble communicating with the people there? Also, what is the living standard majority there? I am from the US. Does it compare to the United States?

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb