The cemetery in Recoleta - the end of another fun week


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
November 7th 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another week has flown by once again! After two weeks of classes, I almost felt like a Porteno this morning as I was reading the daily newspaper on the train into the city! Well reading might be exaggerated 😊 more like skimming the headlines... but there was the article about President Bush inviting Obama to the Casa Blanca for a Monday meeting that I actually read! The news even here have been dominate by the elections in the US.
But since I am literally on my way to Uruguay for the weekend, I am going to keep this blog very short and will just tell you that I had another great week, I love this city! It is noisy, a bit dirty, full of contrasts, hectic yet tranquil and full of life- day and night! During the week, the school offered afternoon excursions again, and this time we went to the barrio Recoleta and the famous cemetery where Argentinians Legends, incl. Eva Peron and her family have their grave sites. It is a bit of a strange place... after all it is a cemetery, but it is also beautiful and reminded me of the cemetery in New Orleans.

Ok, off to
El AlteneoEl AlteneoEl Alteneo

the coolest bookstore ever inside an old theater
catch the ferry to Colonia in Uruguay ...more on that next time

adios SL


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb