Winding up the year in Bs As!!!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
December 20th 2007
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well - Do I have some stories for you!!!! I just wanted to sound very dramatic!!! Did it work???? I´m so gay I know! Well, it is very very close to Christmas time, just 5 sleeps to go!!! So, a very Merry Christmas to you all!!! May you all eat and dink to much and be merry!!! I know I will! Well, actually that depends on a few things! I think that I am going to need to have my wits about me this Christmas as will be joining Kevin´s family! I am heading down there tomorrow by bus tomorrow. They live in another state - La Pampa. It´s mostly a farming region in Argentina so I don´t think that there is really that much in the way of tourism!!! But thats fine by me! Infact it is kind of what I am looking for. I will be staying with Kevin and his family for most of summer. I´m a little freaked out about it all as nobody in his family speaks any English. I am imagining Christmas day with a lot of family speaking very quickly and all at the same time with 6 different conversations going on and I
Creamfields!!!Creamfields!!!Creamfields!!!

Chemical Brothers effects at Creamfields!!! Was incredible - the biggest out door party I´ve been to yet with 100,000 people!
am not so sure how I am going to understand anything!!!! But, that is kind of the idea! I want to focus more on my Spanish and I have so many options to speak in English in Buenos Aires. This way at least for summer I am going to be forced to use my Spanish all the time! So basically if I want to talk (and we all know that I like to talk hahah) then my Spanish is going to have to get better!!! Fingers crossed that all goes well as I have to admit to have butterflies in my stomach right now! The last 6 weeks here in Bs As has been pretty relaxed. Finishing up the teaching year at work and sorting my things to leave Buenos Aires. We had our work Christmas party the other day which was really quite funny as the company I work for is owned by 2 guy guys! They had professional dancer come to the party and everybody have to get up and copy their dance moves and considering the fact that everybody was dancing to really bad music from the 60´s and 70´s (english music) it was really something out
San TelmoSan TelmoSan Telmo

The talented artists of Buenos Aires busking on the streets of San Telmo - they have a piano and everything!!!
of a horror film! I stayed in for about 2 songs then I decided that sitting at the bar and drinking free wine would be a much better use of my time! hahaha I took a trip to a place called Tigre - about a half an hour train ride out of the city. Is a suburb that is based around small rier. It was really nice to get out of the city for the day. We took a boat down the river and had some luch a little cafe which was really nice. Although the prices were incredible!!! $14 pesos for a fried egg on the side of your plate! ´Tell him he´s dreaming´is pretty much what went through my mind when I read that considering I can buy a dozen eggs for $4 pesos!!! I also took a trip over to Uruguay by ferry on the weekend. Uruguay small country across from Argentina. You can catch a ferry over to it in about 40mins. I saw a reall bull fighting ring which was pretty cool. But, we were on the bus so I couldn´t stop to take photos. It is 100´s ofyears old and falling apart and is massive!!!! Apparently it took some ridiculous amount of years to build and then was only used for 3 or 4 bull fights before bull fighting became outlawed!!! Which I have to say is a good thing - bull fighting is horrible. Tey plan to rebuld it an dturn it into a out door theatre. Well, I think thats about all from me for right now I have to get myself packed up and rey toleave for Santa Rosa, La Pampa! Merry Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you all!!!! As always miss you all like crazy!!!!! Huga and kisses!!!! Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

San TelmoSan Telmo
San Telmo

A group of artists walking around the strrets of San Telmo making music - was great! (and the guys have great bodys - not that I was looking)
Ciudad de Bs AsCiudad de Bs As
Ciudad de Bs As

Some of the amazing bulidings that line the streets of Bs As!!!
Ciudad de Buenos AiresCiudad de Buenos Aires
Ciudad de Buenos Aires

This one is incredible - the detail is amazing!!
Tigre!!Tigre!!
Tigre!!

It just dosen´t matter where you go there will always be a Mc Donalds.
Xmas PartyXmas Party
Xmas Party

This lady was actually quite entertaining - she sings tango music with a little bit of acting to go with it.
Xmas partyXmas party
Xmas party

And here you can see my fellow workmates busting a grove........umm it´s all a bit strange for my liking!
Xmas PartyXmas Party
Xmas Party

And again, although this time it´s starting to get a little worse I think - I had exited for the bar by tis stage!!!
ColoniaColonia
Colonia

This is a wall that took 100 years to build because the country kept going to war and changing hands.Thats an awfully long time for a wall!!!
ColoniaColonia
Colonia

Aparently if you walk down this alley and make a wish it will come true. A man wished he could live forever but didn´t specify how so he is getting around as some kind of insect now as the story goes - becareful what yoiu wish for!
ColoniaColonia
Colonia

Yes well, it´s a lighthouse.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb