Buenas Aires, I Breathe You!


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

TangoTangoTango

We met a college-level professional tango professor and instructor in Boca, the area of Buenas Aires where the Tango started! He was there selling his paintings, offered me a little lesson. I thought he mixed up his moves a few times, but I didn't say anything.

Buenas Aires, I Breathe You!

 South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Recoleta By ChileOut
June 17th 2007
Diana
One month and some odd change ago I took a trip to Buenas Aires, Argentina. This is the beauty of a study abroad experience. A travel partner, Taylor is chosen by the following process:

1. Meet on campus while talking to a friend mutual friend.
2. Eat a few bites of food together
3. See each other again at a group sushi-eating.
4. Realize you both want to go to Argentina on the same dates.
5. Buy plane tickets. Plan for nothing else.


And so it happened that I got on a plane with someone I barely knew to brave another country. But bravery was not really all that necessary, except maybe to understand the Argentine accent! I will just post pictures and stories, because they speak a couple more words than my fingers do!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Evening in BAEvening in BA
Evening in BA

Evening on the water. The only thing that could make this picture more beautiful is to understand that the picture taker is sitting at a table with a large steak in front of them. Glory.
Eh?Eh?
Eh?

"Ooh, there's a pretty street with falling leaves, let's go that way! Look, those people are shouting loudly and parading down the street protesting...let's go there! Hey, a rasta reggae band playing on the street! Oh, a bird!" Yes, this is my navigation system of major metropolitan areas. Please travel with me.
HostelHostel
Hostel

The hostel we stayed at. Hip, swanky, clean, and CHEAP ($15 a night!). Doing research ahead of time pays off. We stayed in a room with 8 bunk beds (summer camp style!) with people from all over the world. Travel friends are a new type of fun!
GuillermoGuillermo
Guillermo

I stole his hat. Costume is very important to me.
Animal controlAnimal control
Animal control

I braved this country with maturity and sophisticated reserve.
RespectRespect
Respect

Walking among the graves of the wealthiest, most important, and historically prominent Argentines in history. I wonder if they like my cutoffs?
ThundercloudsThunderclouds
Thunderclouds

Thunderclouds rolled overhead in the middle of Recoleta Cemetary. Big, fat, balmy warm drops started falling in the already Gothic, beautiful cemetary. We hid in the awning of various graves. Eek.
Vegetarians ThriveVegetarians Thrive
Vegetarians Thrive

in Argentina
Fooding!Fooding!
Fooding!

" I want the chocolate cake! No, not that one! That one has nuts in it taking up space that COULD be chocolate!" -Taylor. And my heart.
VegetariansVegetarians
Vegetarians

At the best steak place in the world. It was confirmed to me by an Australian cattle farmer and a Canadian cattle farmer, both of which were in this group of people from the hostel. It was served to us by a almost seven foot tall (and just as wide) giant of a man who ran this hole in the wall steak place, "Desnivel." the most unnassuming place ever which produced argentine steak that literally melted in your mouth....mmm I wish i was eating it right now.
Recoleta ChurchRecoleta Church
Recoleta Church

Recoleta Cemetary is right behind. Church: beautiful. Sky: Beautifuler.
Eva PeronEva Peron
Eva Peron

Eva's grave was surprisingly un-exciting. Except for all the flowers. Apparently, this cemetary is incredibly hard to get space in. Bigshots.
New friendsNew friends
New friends

At night in the hostel, people would call out, "steak dinner" or "movies!" or "tango show, anyone?" we would all pile into our respective interests. Here Taylor, Steve (from New Zealand), and I went to an amazing dinner right on the water. Unbelievably lovely. and pleasantly priced! YUM!
ChurchChurch
Church

Church gets a new meaning. Or does it? Do you think God loves me more because he sees me in a place like this? I still contend the most beautiful churches do not compare to the beauty God makes (where I prefer worship). But I definitely appreciate them for the intricacy and artwork displayed!
Be serious!Be serious!
Be serious!

I kept giggling awkwardly. Sigh. I wish I were mature enough for the life I lead.
RecoletaRecoleta
Recoleta

Beautiful, majestic graves. Eva Peron is buried here.
SubteSubte
Subte

Buenas Aires' subway system is the "Subte" (subterraneous), and it reminded me just how directionally challenged I am. Good thing I had taylor there. We decided that I am a human compass. I point on way, and you go another!
In BocaIn Boca
In Boca

I were a pup in Buenas Aires....
Shopping GloryShopping Glory
Shopping Glory

There were rows and rows of artesian boutiques with super cheap, super COOL clothes, crafts, Argetine leather, etc...handmade! Talking to the vendors was one of the best parts....hearing about how they made their crafts, why, etc. But we definitly did our share of shoppin'...my favorite kind.
I do I do
I do

Who needs this much chocolate? God bless you, duty-free.
Hard Rock Cafe, Buenas AiresHard Rock Cafe, Buenas Aires
Hard Rock Cafe, Buenas Aires

Okay, okay. I admit it. We actually ate at McDonalds while in Argentina, as well as Hard Rock Cafe. I still say we just went to get some quality Heinz 57 Ketchups. Bagged Chilean ketchup just doesn't do the trick!


18th June 2007

Precious!
So interesting, Diana. I love your captions! ha ha! You thought he got some of his steps mixed up! What about posting some of your trip in the Renault?

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb