Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 30th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What an awesome place. We´ve been in the city since Sunday and are taking Spanish lessons each morning. I´m getting better, but I don´t know many words yet. We have been having hilarious conversations with a Chilean guy from our hostel. He speaks about two words of English, so we talk in a hilarious mix of spanish, english, spanglish, charades and drawing.

Some gems from the lost in translation file:

Ben, tried to explain to our teacher that he was hot from walking up the stairs. She started laughing. He had just told her so earnestly that he was horny.

Me, trying to say (in response to ´how are you´) that I was not very good as I was very tired. I accidently said ´I am not very good, I am married´.

BA is pretty lively. The people keep up a frenetic pace. Loud music blares from the bar at our hostel at all hours of the day and night. The beer is cheap and cold (about $2 for almost a litre). The roof area appears to be a bit of a weed den. Most people seem to go to bed around 4 to 6am. We made the mistake of booking our lessons for 9am! It´s pretty hard to get to sleep (especially when your Swedish dorm mates bring men home from clubs and get jiggy in the opposite bunk).

It rains in torrential downpours with thunder and lightning.

Ben has developed a taste for Dulce de leche (a caramel type spread that seems to come with everything). I prefer the tango!

Tomorrow we jump on a bus and head south.

I can´t seem to get my camera to mate with the computer, so I will post some pics later on.

Hasta luego!





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



30th March 2007

Spanish Couple!!!
Hola!! Soy Laura, profesora y amiga de Kat y Ben!!! They had a very intensive Spanish week and they have sucess!!! I hope the trip will allow you to speak more with latinamerican people and discover our culture, our life style, our nature and traditions!! Enjoy as much as possible this wonderful experience in South America! Warmest regards for you, friends!! Laura
1st April 2007

Hola!
Hola amigos, Ah, the hardship of late nights, booze and no work. Enjoying the blog. Belle

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb