T-shirts, Pre-nup and Bourne


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
May 2nd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Lost another hour sailing east. Got up around 8:30, Ken went and got lattes for our routine; drinking them on our balcony. We had breakfast upstairs (didn't see Bobbie and Annie). As we were walking around we saw them. We went to exchange some dollars for euros (not good) for our visits coming up, bought some t-shirts (2 for $20), toothpaste and laundry soap then headed to deck 7 to walk.

I had just enough time to shower before my massage, which was wonderful. Annie had a facial. I was waiting for Annie after my massage. A lady about my age asked me how my massage was and we started chatting. She said she was treating herself because her husband had spent 4x his allotted amount for gambling: $1600 instead of the $400 allotment. She then proceeded to tell me the following: he has gone through all of her money. She was married to a doctor, raised the kids (stay at home mom), got divorced. She got $375,000 from the first marriage and $50,000/year alimony.....until she married her current husband. The alimony ended. She made him sign a pre-nip- her lawyer tried to talk her out of marrying him because his only asset was a truck. She married him anyway and has let her run through all the money. She now works as a cashier at Costco and he works part time making $8/hr. She said her current husband's father, who is 92, has included her in his will because he knows what a bum ( with a gambling problem) his son is. She said when her father-in-law dies and she inherits the money she is going to divorce her husband. With that she was called for her massage...I said ok, good luck and that was it. Wow!

Ken was doing laundry (still doing his Personal Assistant duties) and I got back to the room just as he was finishing up.

The Bourne Legacy was just beginning so we watched it. I really miss Matt Damon in the role. I thought it was pretty good.

Heidee the masseuse, asked if I wanted oil in my hair and I said yes. She put a lot of oil in my hair and I really didn't want to wash it out but I really couldn't go to dinner looking like a grease ball, so we let Annie and Bobbie know that we were staying in. We ordered room service for lunch while we watched the movie.

For dinner, I got out of my robe , threw some clothes on we went to the Lido deck for self serve, hoping I didn't look too bad. I'll never see these people again, right??

Quiet night reading and watching the sunset. Another sunny warm day.

**last night I asked our waiter if he had ever been on a ship when someone died or gone overboard; he has been working on ships for 13 years. He said yes- once a man jumped overboard after his love broke up with him on the ship (never found his body) and once an employee hung himself from the fire sprinkler head. Just a tidbit of info

Advertisement



3rd May 2013

If money is short and she is working as a cashier at Walmart and he for $8.00 an hour, what are these two doing on a cruise? Wow is right, that is an incredible story. ?
3rd May 2013

WOw, that lady you talked to sounds crazy. How do you afford a cruise on $8/hour part time?? I love the Bourne series, but didnt like when he wasn't in the 4th one.

Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb