Storms at sea...


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
October 8th 2011
Published: October 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Storms at sea can be so illuminating!  I apologise for the pun in today's opening line - blame it on Richard.  But, actually, he makes a good point.  As we sailed away from Montenegro last night and out into the Adriatic, we were treated to an amazing free light show.  There was a very active electric storm.  No rain but a very distinct hooley blowing in from the direction of Venice and some incredible lightning strikes.  The whole sky lit up from left to right and sometimes we could see as many as 3 separate strikes hitting the sea at the same time.  The storm was several miles away so we felt very safe but it really was spectacular to watch.

I then had my own personal lightning strike in the cabin.  I stubbed my toes really hard on the base of the sofa.  It was the sort of pain that hurt so much I actually couldn't swear.  And for those of you that know me well, you know how f...ing rare an occurrence that is!  Am pretty sure I've broken at least one toe and possibly two and am now sporting the most amazing colour scheme on my left foot!  My toes turned black within about 30 minutes and they haven't stopped throbbing yet.  So it's a jolly good job we're doing little more than dossing at sea for 2 days.

We split up this morning while Richard went off to watch the rugby quarter-final between England and France.  I went to a lecture about our next port of call (Cartagena) but I was not alone in my assessment of the lecturer.  I think it would be hard to make any place on earth sound more boring than he managed.  It will definitely be interesting to see if he's right ... or not.  I hope not!

This afternoon we went back for another 2 hours glued to the glass blowing exhibition on the ship.  Still can't quite get my head around them having all those furnaces on a ship surrounded by grassy gardens.  It's definitely one of the things that makes Celebrity unique.

Yet another wonderful dinner tonight: short ribs, clam chowder, sea bass and then almond panacotta and coffee.  Our restaurant on board this ship definitely does the best sugar-free puddings on the high seas.  I haven't felt any need to stray off the diabetic route at all on this cruise as the chef is a master of making sugar free yumminess!

We haven't had very much sunshine today but it's still gloriously warm and even though it's gone 10 at night now, we have the balcony doors wide open.  We can just see the lights coming from Sicily as we start our journey across the Mediterranean heading for mainland Spain.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb