Desperate for Something. Anything!


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
November 9th 2017
Published: September 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Partly Cloudy - 68F



Things seem to be moving very slow here. That's right, not much action. Let me give you the "Reader's Digest" version. We ate breakfast. We wandered aimlessly about the ship for a while. I tried to put down $100/pp on a future cruise of our choice with the Future Cruise lady but her office was closed. Back upstairs for a tossed salad and lemonade. Now what?

I get a table and chairs on Deck 7 Crooner's Bar and resume blogging. I'm catching up now, posting 11/4, 11/5 and later, 11/6. The shops and entertainment are in close proximity to my location which keeps Karen occupied, buying me some peace and quiet. The sounds of the Hawaiian entertainer in the Atrium drift upward into the bar providing me some background music to write by. There’s a Hawaiian lady teaching people how to put on and wear different scarves. Later, they play the ring toss game. These people are screaming with excitement when, after a number of contestants failed, one guy finally rings the bottle and wins the champagne. Winner! My seat near the main aisle affords a great vantage point for people watching while I enter my info. Karen returns with one of those tea drinks and a hot chocolate for me. That's right. The hot chocolate was free again. Later on, I request a glass of ice and pour one of my free Cokes. The young barmaid here knows me and smiles. I wonder what she's thinking. Probably something like, "This guy's a big spender. I sure would like to go out with him".

4pm comes and we return to our room to get ready for dinner. While in line at the dining room, we note that the loud mouth lady from Oklahoma is directly in front of us, unaware that we're right behind her since she's babbling away at some unfortunate soul next to her. This greatly increases the odds that a repeat seating could occur. We leave the line, wander around for a few minutes and re-enter the line. We're safe. She's seated just inside at a table for 10.

It's Italian night tonight so I can't figure out what's on the menu. I see kingklip fish and ask our server. It's grilled mahi mahi on a bed of Swiss chard. I'll take it. Karen's in too. Seated at a table for 8 are three couples, two from Klamath Falls and one from Sarasota, FL. They're OK. Tonight, a piano player, Tom Franek, is the entertainment in the Princess Theater and we arrive a half hour early. At curtain time it's standing room only. This guy is great, playing Elton John and Liberace while standing on his head too. Picking up a desert treat in the Lido after the show, we return to our room for the night. Internet is out again so any new blog editions ready to send will have to wait until tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ring Toss for $5 ChampagneRing Toss for $5 Champagne
Ring Toss for $5 Champagne

The people were going crazy over this game.


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb