South Pacific Adventure- At Sea


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
November 3rd 2014
Published: November 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

At Sea



Our first series of sea days is coning to an end as we get closer to Hilo, Hawaii. The ship's internet service is the poorest I have encountered and when it's not down for repairs it is slower than molasses. Thus I have been unable to post day to day. Would probably been boring though on board it is anything but.



The days are filled with activities that I enjoy. Early morning coffee on the balcony starts the day. The sound of the wake is soothing and the sunrises have been beautiful. ML heads to stretch class and I fiddle with the IPad for a while, surrender, and read my book. After breakfast I head to the showroom for the morning lecture. Dr, Kess, Professor Emeritus at Victoria University is a great lecturer and very well prepared. His visual aids are stunning and he can tell a complex story in the hours he has. Yesterday his talk was about the authors and artist who ventured to the South Pacific and used that material in their books or art; Melville, Twain, London, Stevenson, Gauguin, Mitchner, the list is more than impressive.



Previously he talked about the factors the impelled Japan to attack Perl Harbor, both cultural and economic. Very insightful.



Then, if I'm lucky I can get into the 12:30 poker tournament. Played the first day, lost and have been unable to get on the list since. If I don't play then I have lunch at the pool or in the Lido, and then head for team trivia. Even if I am not on a team I play along. It's amazing how much obscure information lurks in the brain when I can't remember yesterdays breakfast. Then it's the 2:30 poker tournament which I probably should avoid, no success there so far and maybe some pool time or reading on the balcony.



In the mean time, ML has been doing her thing which included winning at bingo and the slots tournament or attending the spa lectures. We dress for dinner, head to the Ocean bar for our stingers and then to dine. We changed to as you wish dining at a large table and our table mates have been delightful. It is so much more fun for us to have many people to visit with.



Finally it's show time and I actually attended one, a tribute group to the Temptations. They were very good and will be performing one more time before Hawaii. Before bed I take my Kindle out on the balcony and read



So that's life on board and it really suits me. We do as much or as little as we choose. The weather has been perfect, the seas calm the skies sunny for the most part with a short sprinkle yesterday afternoon. Enjoying the chats with folks, ice cream in the afternoon and on Tuesday we have an eclipse of the moon to look forward to. Life is good.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.333s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb