Family On Board . . .


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
February 9th 2010
Published: February 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have family on board with me!

My Aunt Renee and Uncle Allan booked a cruise with me this past December, soon after I arrived here on the Spirit. For a Christmas gift, my cousin Kelsey got to come with them too. For months now we’ve been emailing back and forth and counting down to their arrival. Finally their cruise has arrived!

They flew into San Diego the day before their cruise. That last sea day, it felt so exciting to know I was cruising towards my family. The next morning when the ship was docked in San Diego, I went out and met them at their hotel across the street. As I approached the hotel room door, I could hear their voices inside before I even knocked and I was just grinning away.

We got them onboard and had lunch together up on Lido deck. The wind was pretty strong and it was rather cold which was unfortunate. It was also Super Bowl Sunday, so the ship was extra chaotic with that happening. I gave them a tour of the ship, they settled into their cabin and took in a bunch of the game in the main lounge where it was being shown on the big screen.

One of the exciting perks of having family onboard is that I get to eat in the guest dining room with them. So I am eating well these days! The second night on board was the first elegant night of the cruise so we were all dressed up to wine and dine together.

Unfortunately, the current itinerary that I am working on has a lot of sea days and we started out with two in a row. This means a whole lot of work and not as much time with the fam as I’d like. However, one of the most excellent parts of Kelsey cruising right now is that she falls into a perfect age range where she has access to all adult activities but is an exception who is allowed into my teen club. So frequently while I am working in the club, Kels is there with the other teens (or just with me as it’s a quiet cruise) playing the video games and card games and other activities. I love getting to have her in the club with me!

Tomorrow we’re in Acapulco and we’ll start our port adventures together. I’m really looking forward to all the ports, but I’m also just savouring every moment that they’re here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

SuperbowlSuperbowl
Superbowl

The first day of the cruise was the superbowl which was played in the main lounge. Guests could win a seat in the "living room" shown here.


21st February 2010

Must have been nice having some fam there with ya. Hoping all is well with you...

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb