Quick update


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
February 28th 2009
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick update cuz I got lots to do:

Tomorrow when I arrive in San Diego, I may not be allowed off the ship at all. Due to our Code Red status with the GI virus, I have to scrub down my entire rack and have it inspected by members of the CDC way early in the morning. Depending on when I'm cleared, I may only have a few hours off the ship, or it could work out that I'm not allowed off at all. If this is the case, I won't obviously be making my phone calls, so I appologize in advance if you all don't hear from me.

The GI Virus has spread rapidly throughout the ship. The first day, we had a reported 10 passengers inflicted, and within 3 hours, the number had jumped to 37. After day three, we were at 55, including 2 crew, and after day four, we had 80 passengers sick, along with 5 crew members. Now, nearing the end of day 7, we have 111 total infected. The Captain says that the growth of new cases has decreased, but it's still climbing. I hope that once we get these guests off and have a ship scrubdown, the virus will be wiped out and we won't have to deal with it anymore. If it keeps up however, it's going to be a long 14-day cruise through the Panama Canal and up to Ft. Lauderdale.

This upcoming cruise, at the same time, gives me something to look forward to. I'm going to be making stops in countries/places I've never been before, which I find very exciting. We'll be stopping once in Puerto Vallarta again, but then we'll be entering Panama, Columbia, and various islands in the Carribbean as well. I'll have my camera at the ready.

This past cruise I went jetskiing again, only this time I was by myself.....it's now one of my new favorite activities to do in the world.

The waves have been very rough today. The rest of the cruise was very pleasent, and the temperatures in Mexico got very hot on our last day in Cabo San Lucas. (Don't worry Mom, I wore 70 SPF)

I will hopefully be able to write more this upcoming week, and I REALLY hope I get to talk to all of you tomorrow in San Diego. I miss you all tons. I really feel like I'm going to need a vacation after this 😊

Love you all,
Charlie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb