Getting to Hong Kong


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific » South China Se
March 24th 2011
Published: March 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MARCH 24th to MARCH 26th---

The last 2 days have been absolutely miserable! We went through a storm that turned out to be really bad. The waves were crashing down really hard. Our ship would literally go on top of a wave and then crash back down. We had to barricade some of the safety doors. All the stuff in my room fell everywhere. I couldn’t sleep the entire time and almost everyone was sea-sick. The first night back on the ship from Vietnam, I was laying in bed trying to fall asleep until a huge wave came and literally by entire body left the mattress. I know we’re completely safe, but I got really scared. Going to class was a struggle and doing homework was even worse. I think only 5 people showed up to my anthropology class because everyone was sick. Luckily, today it finally started to calm down.

Minus the storm, the good news is that we will be in Hong Kong soon! I think after the storm everyone just wants to get off this ship. I’m hoping our long 11 day stretch at the end of the trip isn’t going to be bad….being sea-sick that long is really bad! Luckily I bought a lot of movies and TV shows. We have a lot of events during that stretch too like the Alumni Ball, the auction, talent shows and speciality dining for Charli's birthday. We also have finals during that time so it might be good to have some time to catch up on reading and writing assignments.

So here is my plan for China: 1 whole day and night in Hong Kong, 4 days and 3 nights in Beijing and 2 days and 1 night in Shanghai. I have an early flight tomorrow morning to Beijing! I heard it is supposed to be cold there. I might have to buy a winter jacket at some point today.

The only other news is that all the Chinese students can’t get visas for Taiwan. SAS knew this but Taiwan was the only place we could go to that over half the ship didn’t need visas for. Sadly, the Chinese student population is only around 10-15. I feel really bad for them and they are all fighting for their visas.

I think this morning it hit me that I was going to be in China today. We are literally over half way around the world at this point and time is flying. I can’t believe March is almost over! I only have a month left of the trip. I'm really sad! : (


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb