Transfer Time . . .


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Caribbean » Gulf of Mexico
February 7th 2009
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been a busy cruise. A new director came on this week, so I’ve been training her. She’s great though and I’m actually excited to leave and let her do her thing now. And while I am very much looking forward to heading to the Triumph and seeing people there, I’m leaving great people behind here.

One of the best parts of doing multiple contracts are meeting up with friends you know from previous ships. I’ve been able to spend some great time here with my friend Jason, who I know from the Destiny. It’s also been so good to see Moira and Dana again. The Camp Carnival team here is super, such sweet girls. I’ll miss them. Though it’s only been a few weeks that I’ve known them, I’ve spent a lot of time with Hope (the Youth Director), Erica (Assistant Youth Director) and Adrian (A/V Manager). It doesn’t get any easier saying goodbye when you leave ships.

Tonight in the crew bar, the camp girls had a little farewell for me. They decorated and hung up a sign for me. Then they bought me a gift - too sweet of them. They bought me amber earrings,
Late Night in the MessLate Night in the MessLate Night in the Mess

Erica. I love this girl. She, Hope and I had a mafia happening for a few weeks!
which is beyond perfect - I’ve been looking the last month for a pair of amber earrings that I like to complete a set of amber jewelry. My roommate, Lizel, also bought me a gift: a brown dress purse - also perfect because I’ve accumulated dressy clothing that’s brown, but didn’t have a purse to use in the evenings that matched. Camp Carnival also has a tradition - I don’t know how it started or when - but when people sign off from their teams, somebody “makes” a pillow case, colouring some sort of picture using fabric markers. Then everybody signs it too. My position hasn’t been with Camp Carnival long and though I’ve been on a couple ships as part of the department, I haven’t received a traditional send-off before. But here they did, including my first pillow case! And what a perfect one too . . . It says I “heart” NO (for New Orleans) but with a fleur de lys on it. And in the background is a street labeled Bourbon Street. Love it.

In some ways I can’t believe it’s only been a month that I’ve been here on the Fantasy. I feel so settled
With HopeWith HopeWith Hope

I love Hope! We get distracted with talking far too easily. I'll see her back home eventually.
in and quite attached to some people. But it’s also kind of just flown by. First month of the contract is done. Now it’s transfer time. Tomorrow I’m flying to Miami and staying in a hotel there. Sunday I sign on to the Carnival Triumph.

Ready to go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Niagara KidsNiagara Kids
Niagara Kids

Jason and I met on the Destiny last year, but we grew up in neighbouring towns. We love that we hugged goodbye but said "See you back home!"
With MoiraWith Moira
With Moira

Moira is a nurse onboard. She took great care of me during my health drama last year on the destiny. She's also lovely to hang out with.
Amber Earrings!Amber Earrings!
Amber Earrings!

I've been looking the last month for amber earrings to complete my amber set.
With DanaWith Dana
With Dana

Dana plays in the showband. We've been on at least 3 ships together now!
With StevenWith Steven
With Steven

Steven plays in the showband


15th February 2009

sounds like they gave you quite the send off. Good luck on your next ship :)

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb