All good things must come to an end


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » North Atlantic
June 17th 2011
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

June 17th, 2011; 40 miles outside of Lunenberg
Like any final moments of any experience coming to an end, each one is becoming more precious and special. Yesterday was a windy, dry day on watches except for the sprays that were going over the focsle head and midships. Our watch also did a "white unicorn" which is the similar gift exchange as when our family does the "white elephant". The sun set during my helm hour (#1) and everyone was gathered in silence on the port stern to watch it - gorgeous - with a layer of stratus cloud above it - melting orange sun into the horizon. The watch went by fastest ever and it was the coldest ever requiring multiple layers. The "white unicorn" - during 3 rd hour was hilarious with lots of repeated stealing of the most popular gifts: a painted egg with Mangareva pearls inside; a white pill from the doc that when taken with 1st beer doesn't give a hangover, a canvas woven wallet, goldfish crackers, REAL milk, ginger beers and real beers. In the afternoon I hung out in the focsle again sewing the handle of my sea bag - Meredith made us Bailey's hot chocalate too - yum, perfect for a cold day. Yes, yesterday was an early winter day - meals still taken in the salon because of the rolls. But this morning when I was awoken for galley at 6am - the wind is nearly gone as well as the swells and the water is smooth glassy gentle swells - oh! and the moon! Last night was 1 day post full moon and man it has been gorgeous as it rises in its mystic oragne glow behind the dark silhouetted halloween clouds - and as it gets higher it turns into a more silvery milky white casting its light on the water making it look like slow motion even in 6-8 foot seas. This morning's breakfast was exceptional, finally outside back on the aloha deck: yummy soft scrambled eggs with tomato and onions, blue berry coffee cake made by my watch last night, oatmeal, toast, muffins, and cut up pineapple and grapefruit. Adam made an astute observation that we are being spoiled by all the good food right before the end of our journey. My last full day - well, i didn't take a nap yesterday and regretted that
as I turned to night watch and I'd like to take a nap today, but I don't wanna because I don't want to sleep away my last full day on the ship. Plus, Oh! I was going to make grommets for my sea bag today - I'll do it after lunch -of course part of me doesn't feel ready to leave the ship - as expected, I feel like I'm finally getting into my groove here. It also feels like the calm before the storm because I feel like once we arrive tomorrow, it's going to be chaos and hectic and crazy and all kinds of emotions flying and then the packing, man, especially those that have been on for 14 months. So, this dream realized is coming to completion - can't really describe the feeling of when that happens, it's not accomplishment, it's like deep, "all is right in the world - I'm fulfilling my destiny" kinda satisfaction - even if the lack of wind was a disappointment - the voyage was not. There have been lots of preps for the award ceremony and for the captain's video. Wendy and Meredith have been video recording interviews for people's answers to the following questions: 1. Most memorable moment of the captain 2. What have you learned from the captain 3. One word to describe him. For 2 of the answers I babbled about the captain giving quarter deck talks and one in particular was when he was telling us to stay away from Jack Iron cuz it does terrible things. But, if you should drink it there is a correct way to drink it but I can't remember cuz I was drinking Jack Iron at the time. So, my impressions, not sure what to say, this is such a unique experience.
Tonight is my last night on board the barque Picton Castle – holy crap. I can’t believe this is coming to a close! Which comes bittersweet – the sadness is for the ending of this once in a lifetime unique experience, sharing it with the people on board. The happiness is for seeing my friends and family again and moving on to the next adventure life has in store. But I feel like I have just gotten into my groove here! I know enough to be able to keep up with the seasoned veterans during sail handling. I feel the comfort of having found my place here and finding myself in it, too. And there’s still so much I could learn and see – but such is the case with joining the voyage in the last leg. I am also looking forward to moving on. Any reluctance or hesitation at doing so is due to the realization that this experience is quickly going to be part of my past – ugh! The opportunity to live so intimately close with others, learn from so many different people, to be faced with my own foibles and quarks. I guess the next task is to take that and apply it to my everyday life. That’s one way to take it into the present so as to not have it just slip into the past as just another cool experience. And all people I come into contact with is an infinite source of knowledge to learn from. And my foibles and quarks always pop up – I just may or may not be so aware to it if I’m paying attention or not. So, it’s all the same stuff I keep learning – over and over again in new and different contexts, but still all the same – I just also have super cool stories, pictures and memories of travel to go along with this one. Gotta peace out now, one of my bunk mates is being kept up by my typing - such as it is 


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb