big blue sea


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » North Atlantic
November 3rd 2010
Published: November 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm sorry for the lack of photos with the blog but I haven't been able to figure out how to post them from my iPad, affectionately known as "Padme." Speaking of which, how's this for posh - the upper ultra-end suites come with their own iPads for use on board, updated daily by your butler with the latest news websites. For the rest of us, we can read "daily papers" each morning after 9:30. That was a headscratcher for me at first - but then it was obvious - they download and print off copies and put them in the library.
The library is just about my favourite place on the ship - cozy and serene with long, low wooden bookcases softly illuminated from inside and classic library reading lamps. And the chairs! No insomniac could resist the charms of the place.
Last night was the first ball - the Swing Ball - and I was gobsmacked by the outfits the women were wearing - 85% were in long gowns, jewels on, hair done and all the men in tuxes. A big band played swing classics, rhumbas and fox trots. Earlier in the day I met up with the "Gentleman Hosts" for a story (what, me go on holiday and now work???) and so I didn't lack for partners on the dance floor. No single woman does on this ship and it's amazing. The guys are mostly 65-plus, single, and they are looking to spice up their retirement (no fraternization! So don't worry dad, I won't come home with a 75-year-old taxi dancer from Liverpool). They're just charming fellows and they work the room, asking all the single ladies (is there a song in there?) to dance. I even did the rhumba with Charlie, a retiree from Chicago who played half a season with the Argos in the 1960s.
Before the dance there was the Commodore's cocktail party (I keep thinking 70s disco) and then dinner at the Hotel Manager's table. It was a fun group, including a hilarious woman from Wales who spilled all the beans on Corrie. I was fascinated to hear stories of how they manage to feed all of us - and the food has been amazing, my meal last night was venison carpaccio and roasted salmon with chickpeas and a leek reduction. David, the Hotel Manager explained they load most of the food in Southampton, where the ship started out 3 weeks ago, going to NYC, back to Southampton, NYC (where I got on) and finally back home. The fresh stuff, 300 tones! came aboard in NYC for this leg of the trip. They have rooms for baking and pastry and vegetables and a room just for ripening bananas!
After breakfast this morning, I bundled up and hit the deck for a long walk. People go round and round all day and the wind is terrific - the seas and really churning and I love it. This afternoon, I hit the spa, lounging in a gigantic hydro-pool and whirlpools, steam rooms, fancy this and that and then a facial. The combo of the rocking of the boat and the massage was hypnotic and I was soon snoozing on a comfy padded lounger facing the sea behind one-way glass, so we could watch the walkers and the ocean, but they couldn't see us in out robes. How decadent!
After dinner tonight is the black and white ball - I have a gorgeous black velvet vintage dress I bought in Paris (Ont) but that bugger Simon D. Cat got me with his claw and messed with my decollete. He shall pay for that - somehow.
I raise a glass of champagne as my cabin slowly rolls from side to side (only 1 glass so you must blame the sea - honest). Off to dinner.
Linda

Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb