Sea Day


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Atlantis
September 25th 2011
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 21.8615, -114.609

Hubby & I woke-up early today. We have been good at taking naps but not good at sleeping-in since ship time is west coast time i.e. two hours ahead of our normal time. This morning we decided to go out on the quiet deck and have a croissant. It was barely daylight outside, cool, and wonderful.

Hubby went to the balcony to read and I grabbed my laptop and updated this blog. The Internet was non-existent on the ship so I couldn't update it in real time but I did keep my Word document. We finally both got semi-bored so we walked around the ship until we found the 12:00 wine pairing class. For $17.50 per person you get to taste different wines with different foods and learn some new "wine things" and frankly, it is entertaining and worth every penny. Having been to numerous wine tastings over the last few years, hubby and I were not surprised by much of the information given at the tasting. A young Russian girl who was obviously quite passionate about wines gave lots of information with a fun flair and I liked her style. We tasted a sparkling, a Riesling, etc… a total of five wines. I only remember the sparkling and the Riesling because they are always my two favorites. The only thing new I learned at the wine pairing was how wonderful lemon and Riesling go together… she actually had us take a small bite of lemon and then drink some of the Riesling. It was sooo nice! Who woulda thought? Well, it figures… I love lemon-flavored items and I love a good Riesling!! The remainder of our pairing consisted of salmon with white wines, a piece of beef with the red wines, some cheese and crackers with the various wines, and a strawberry with the champagne. There was also some marmalade and a blueberry on our tasting plate but I'm not for sure what they were for as hubby & I had arrived to the tasting just a minute or two late. Regardless, it was fun and interesting. We only tasted wines from the "Old World" today (Europe) so we will consider attending tomorrow's tasting of wines from the “New World, if we make it, that is...




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1022.6kb