Good day for a hike


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Atlantis
February 5th 2014
Published: August 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.8607, 18.4214

Today was a more relaxing day; a late start due to chatting to the hostel girls over a relaxing breakfast. I decided to climb one of the hills over looking the city as the views were supposed to be spectacular. I first walked the 5 minutes to the old town, stopped to get supplies of cake and coffee at a lovely little cafe slightly up the hill and with good views of the old town. The woman owner gave me a blanket so I could sit outside without being cold and came to show me how to properly drink Bosnian coffee. It is served in a little tankard, with a smaller China cup. You're supposed to take a tea spoon and fold the coffee until the film on top has disappeared and then pour into the cup. The coffee is bitter so they say to take a sugar lump, gently dunk a corner into the coffee, eat and repeat. If, however, you're a little impatient like me, you'll in find that the sugar lump dissolves into the coffee and all over your hand - not quite how it's supposed to be!

Suitable caffeine refueled I set off up the hill. And what a steep hill it was. Winding up through cemeteries and peoples houses, I stopped for frequent 'let's take a photo' breaks and finally made it to the top about an hour later. I was not disappointed, the view from the top was spectacular; a clear day and I could see all of Sarajevo and surrounding hills. At the top I met a Swiss guy who pointed out all the landmarks from the 1984 Olympics - very interesting, even if the downhill slope now looked like a new forest. On the way down I stopped to check out an old castle on the hill and then, together with some girls, got saved by locals from some wild dogs. Bosnian politics are very complicated- 3 political parties in power and about 150 others. This means that decisions are not made quickly, including what to do with the estimated 15,000 wild dogs that roam sarajevo.

Finally, I headed back to the hostel and out for dinner with the other girls. We went back to the Galatasaray restaurant with the football shirts, flags and trophies hanging everywhere but which did the best cevapi in Sarajevo - I would come back just for this! After this we spent out last night in the brewery devouring more of that dark beer. I like Sarajevo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Each district has a mosque andEach district has a mosque and
Each district has a mosque and

Each district has a mosque and a cemetery so that during the war people could continue to pray without risking their lives walking too and from the city centre


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb