Burma


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Atlantis
April 24th 2015
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 9.98238, 98.5503



What a great trip...

I left Yacht Haven for the day and headed up to Ranong in Thailand before crossing into Myanmar (Burma), it was a bit of a trawl. Drive to Khao Lak, bus to Ranong, songtheaw to the pier, check out at Immigration and jumped on a long tail boat to over to Burma with 12 other Thai/Burmese passengers, and the same back... what an experience, it'll be it almost 16 hours!

Drew kindly lent me his hired car for the day and although my plan way to drive to Ranong it looks like it would take around 5 hours to drive only 360km or thereabouts. So instead I took the car north of Phuket to Khao Lak and caught a bus to Ranong. Drew gave me loads of good info on where to go and what to do re: Immigration and visa requirements and I can't thank him enough. He thoroughly enjoyed his trip recently to Burma although he ended up he couldn't get the boat in (paperwork/itinerary stuff) but I was disappointed not to go with him because of the personal costs involved being a passenger and after spending so long doing her up... hey that's sailing
for ya.

I made it to the correct pier at the jetty however, there are scams around 800 meters before which try and charge you at a fee beforehand for looking at you're paperwork then send you to the 'real Immigration' at the pier (only heard but never did) for you to stamp out of Thailand. There are always touts trying to get you one way or another but I think I'm kind of immune to them now and just act like I know what I'm doing, even if I don't.

So I depart Thailand, and instead of allowing the touts to get involved, 'Are you going to Myanmar Madam", 'Yes" was my reply as I just strolled down the pier. I spotted a boat full of passengers all Thai/Burmese and asked the boat driver how much return? I had heard 50 baht each way for local people, and told you can get on these boats, but I've also been told of tourist being charged 800-1000 baht return!

Straight away I knew he was a good guy, 200 baht he told me but 'No, 50 baht each way?' I said in my gentlest Scottish accent and a smile... ok,ok 150 baht return, 'deal' I said as I was piled into the boat, so our dealings done I was on my way to Burma.

It was a fun trip with the boat stopping at Immigration, Customs posts by boat depending on where you come from, obviously with the boat being all Thai/Burmese we ended up going to local posts, and I mean local, you couldn't even make it out further than someones home!

So we got underway, gentle seas and a new adventure.

The mountains in Burma looked amazing, all lit up by the sun and the constant stream of long tails mixed with the fisherman's housing on stilts in the water, and the pagodas gleaming silver in the background... stunning.

On arrival our boat dropped off a lady, husband and new born baby at their home, docking at steps leading into the water... I couldn't quite get a photo but it was a beautiful sight. Dad got off with the baggage, then mum started to take the baby forward before one of the boys safely scooped him up, passing him to Dad. The people here are so family orientated and look after each other that it's quite overwhelming really, and I felt myself welling up.

Next stop was Immigration in Burma, only a short walk to the left of drop off and as the only western woman walking around on her own I was getting the shouts for tuk tuk'smadam, taxi's? to all sorts of places, but I was fine I knew I only had to walk a short distance to Immigration, check in and get back to the return boat trip.

While I was there I had lots of interaction with the locals, from guides, to people just wanting to chat. I found Immigration and checked in and out at the same time as I was only in for the day, then had a wander around duty free which is much cheaper that Thailand and I'm sorry I didn't bring much cash. The guide had to follow me back to the boat for his number apparently but when there I chat to locals in whatever language they could speak, I loved the bettlenut guy with the red mouth and black teeth, wanting me to take a picture of him but wouldn't open his mouth because he was too embarrassed.

So I return to Thailand, this time the long tail only had four people on board as my guy didn't have enough, apparently some American tourist had hired it and they were adding a few more... he was a young guy and the skipper didn't want me to talk to him about money (because I had a great deal, and he didn't), but the journey back was really rough. No more than a metre swell but the long tail was rocking and rolling and I thought she was going to tip!

I ended up clutched to a guy in front of me most of the way for support, which he responded with a pat and 'it's ok, ok', but it was rough. The engine cut half way over to Thailand and we were bobbing around which was scary enough but then the swell got bigger before we finally got into the channel and near land again. Gosh I was relieved to be back, you would think I've gotten used to living on the sea but she can really throw you.

So return journey ensues, back to check in, songheaw (open van type vehicle with seats in the back), coach and car back to meet Drew in the marina for not quite dinner as the kitchen in the marina was closing but he bought carryout food for us, but beer and a couple of games of pool with friends which was good fun.

What an incredible experience, although I've been into Burma a couple of times before, I can definitely recommend the local way to cross from Ranong into Kawthong by long tail.

Wonder what's next!




Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb