Long Silence, But I'm Still Here.


Advertisement
Oceania
May 14th 2016
Published: May 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Wellington.Wellington.Wellington.

Looking back to Oriental Bay with the City in the back ground.
Hello. About time I made an effort and did a blog. Trouble is that I haven't been traveling and I've not been doing a huge amount since my last blog.

What have I done? Not a lot out of the ordinary but we have been so busy doing something{ not sure what} that the time just fly's by and suddenly, in 4 weeks time we will be off to Norway. So in the past few weeks we have been to Hastings to look after the grandkids, Holly and Ella, for the school holidays, celebrate Holly's 9th birthday, a "little bit of fishing" and generally enjoying the unbelievable calm and hot weather that we have been having. Also lending a helping hand{I think and hope} to the builder that has been doing a few jobs around the house that we wanted done. Di has also been lending a helping hand{Yea, I know. She's retired. But you know how she loves it.} to her old company with the set up of a new store and sorting a few things at the office. Pam and Warwick came down for a few days, so we got to drink a few wines, eat some nice
Walking on.Walking on.Walking on.

I come to Chafers Marina with the Chafers wharf apartments the back ground.
meals and laughed a lot. I have had some great walks around Wellington on these beautiful days and will include some photo's in this blog. I do love Wellington and it is a great city even if it does get very windy sometimes.

On the 9th of June we fly off to Bergen,Norway, to spend about 5 weeks with Chris, Hege, Lilly and Stella, our annual catch up with all things nice in Bergen. Can't wait to see everyone and have a hug with the girls. We then travel with Chris, Hege, Lilly and Stella down to Alicante, Spain, to enjoy the sun,beach, food, a few drinks, some sight seeing and generally having a neat time. So, so looking forward to it all.

We will be leaving Spain toward the end of July to fly to England to catch up with Pete and Helen and hopefully a number of others. Last year while driving down through the north of England with Viv and Charlie, I fell in love with the area around Hadrians Wall and the Lake District. So, I promised myself that one day I would return to walk Hadrians Wall . Well, that is the intention
It May Be Warm.It May Be Warm.It May Be Warm.

But far to cold for me to swim. This is one of many sculptures on the walk around the water front.
during late July to mid August this year, possibly with a couple of others. Final plans are not in place as yet but I'm working on it. One reason I'm a bit behind in planning is that i am having a little trouble with my right knee at present but hopefully this will be sorted early next week once the Doctor has put his magic potion in place. If by chance I can't do the walk, while being really disappointed, we will find plenty of other things to visit, ooh and aah about, and enjoy. With only a few weeks left before departure I guess I'd better start thinking about what to pack. Once on our way I will ensure that I produce more regular blogs. Hope all is well in everyones world. Rod/Pip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The Boat Shed.The Boat Shed.
The Boat Shed.

The rowing club and lagoon, a great place to walk and enjoy the sights.
And a Beautiful Day at HomeAnd a Beautiful Day at Home
And a Beautiful Day at Home

looking out from home on a great day.
Easter Time.Easter Time.
Easter Time.

Holly enjoying the morning.
Awesome Easter Egg.Awesome Easter Egg.
Awesome Easter Egg.

Ella is all set to enjoy.
"You Can't Beat Wellington on a Good Day." "You Can't Beat Wellington on a Good Day."
"You Can't Beat Wellington on a Good Day."

This is a song that has been popular for years. Looking down on the city from Mt Victoria.
Great Day in the Hawkes Bay.Great Day in the Hawkes Bay.
Great Day in the Hawkes Bay.

Amy, Holly and Ella enjoy time at Ocean Beach.
Happy Birthday.Happy Birthday.
Happy Birthday.

Now my eldest grandchild has turned 9. Happy birthday Holly.
Not To Big But Magic.Not To Big But Magic.
Not To Big But Magic.

I managed to sneak out for a few hours on a river. Yippee!!!


15th May 2016

I always enjoy reading your annual vacation blogs...
and look forward to reading about your walk along Hadrian's Wall. I hope your knee is well enough. After walking the Camino, I think that will be next on the list of long walks.
17th May 2016

So clad that the Camino is a go for you this year. If I can handle Hadrians Wall I would love to look at the Camino. i look forward to reading your walk.

Tot: 0.32s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb