Koalas and Bread Save the Day


Advertisement
Oceania
July 15th 2014
Published: July 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Victor Harbor to Kangaroo Island 265 km


Additional maps: Victor Harbour to Kangaroo Island 265 km

Desert Ship Territory Log Day 12.



We managed a well over due sleep in and then I was back into my 'David Attenborough' mode again so I went searching for koalas that are meant to be hanging around in the trees here. The kids reckoned they saw three yesterday (when I was too exhausted to look). Anyway, of course, they were no where to be seen when I went looking. I saw plenty of Tamar Wallabies, roos and birds though. We headed for Flinders Chase National Park and was surprised by the big gift shop, cafe and interpretive centre in the middle of nowhere. We had the choice of paying for a one or two day pass but despite the weather being quite good, half a day had already passed and I wanted to spend most of the day there and had to take my chances with the possibility of bad weather tomorrow. Unknowingly, at the Visitor Centre car park, I walked straight under a koala that a bunch of tourists noticed as I was walking back out. So seeing the koala in the wild made my day. After that we went back to our cabin, had lunch and then hired some sand boards from the Vivonne Bay General Store and took the kids to 'Little Sahara'. There were quite a few families there as there were some awesome dunes. After a couple of hours the kids looked exhausted and started to complain how their boards weren't working and everyone else's was. The fact that the Vivonne Bay General Store had bread also made my day. It started to rain, so we went to a few look outs over the Southern Ocean and then headed back to our cabin as it was starting to look quite miserable outside. Getting back early meant I had plenty of time to finally upload 12 days worth of photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 2.418s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb